Multiple iTunes folders on multiple drives?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by newstrings, Jan 14, 2004.

  1. newstrings macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    #1
    Is it possible to have multiple drives with media that iTunes is referencing?

    I have so much material that I need to load, it will take up probably 500 gigs, and will need to use a couple or a few external drives. Thanks!
     
  2. revenuee macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #2
    Re: Multiple iTunes folders on multiple drives?

    you have 500 gigs of music you want to load in iTunes?
     
  3. newstrings thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    #3
    I'm cataloging music and sound effect libraries and need to load the material as AIFFs.
     
  4. revenuee macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #4
    right, right, thats what i figured..

    if you could afford it i would get yourself a single storage unit, or i guess the other solutions is to use Raid striping to make the smaller drives to act as one drive ... cause i don't think you could do it any other way .... i don't think iTunes was meant for that... but i don't see why it wouldn't work ...

    to bad you can't have multiple libraries ... unless i'm missing something in the software settings


    wait -- just found something
    you can turn off the feature that has you auto copy the files to a specific folder and they would just stay in the location you kept them and played through iTunes -- is that what your looking for?
     
  5. newstrings thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    #5
    Right, I figured that would be the way to go. Thanks.
     
  6. revenuee macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #6
    I found a way that you don't have to do that..
     
  7. revenuee macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #7
    you can turn off the feature that has you auto copy the files to a specific folder and they would just stay in the location you kept them and played through iTunes -- is that what your looking for?
     
  8. newstrings thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    #8
    OK, I got it. good thought, that last post. I put an mp3 on an external drive, turned off that copy option, and it played the track. when I dismounted the drive, it couldn't find it, of course, and when I re-mounted the drive, it played. So, theoretically, it should work on multiple drives.
     
  9. revenuee macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #9
    i just tested it out on my SCSI and on my Firewire drive - -it works fine .... so i can't see it being a problem for you ...

    good luck, and i'm glad i could help
     
  10. rdowns Suspended

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #10
    Re: Multiple iTunes folders on multiple drives?

    Couldn't you alias the files in the external drives?
     
  11. revenuee macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #11
    Re: Re: Multiple iTunes folders on multiple drives?

    That wouldn't really solve anything because the software is designed to either read from original location or copy into the folder

    eaither way we have a solution

    read my previews post --
     
  12. phreakout13 macrumors 6502

    phreakout13

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Location:
    South Eastern MA
    #12
    You could just create new accounts with OS X, each user's iTunes has seperate libraries. That would be a pain though.
     
  13. revenuee macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #13
    you would always have to go in through root to have access to them all...

    still ... that would suck
     

Share This Page