Multiple Monitor ?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by bigdz68, Nov 26, 2004.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Location:
    Bay YAYrea
    #1
    Hi,
    Im currently running a Powermac dual 2.5 with a 23" apple HD Display and a 17" Samsung monitor and also the new NVidia 6800 Ultra graphix card. I would like to hook up a 3rd monitor but how would I go about doing this?? I found this item thru google but couldnt find any other information...anyone have this setup? Is it possible? Heres the item I found but figured there must be an easier way!
    http://www.gefen.com/kvm/product.jsp?prod_id=2077

    Two monitors work great so far but I plan on upgrading to 2 more 23" displays down the road...but for now would love to add another 17" or 19" for extra real estate. Thanks
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    Easiest way is to try and find a PCI video card with a DVI port, pop that in there, and you're good to go.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Palad1

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    No that won't cut it, this device clones the output from one monitor on four different monitors.

    What you need is another graphics card with DVI out, and pluggable on a pci-X port.

    Good luck!
     
  4. macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    Best bet will be an ATi Radeon 9200 PCI grfx card.

    128 MB VRAM, TV-out, VGA and DVI.

    I have one in a B&W G3.
    :)
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Palad1

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    Is it powerfull enough to drive a 23''?
     
  6. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #6
    Yes.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Location:
    Bay YAYrea
    #7
    OK....So I have the baseline video card that came with the Dual 2.5Ghz which is the ATI Radeon 9600 XT I believe...can that be added in since the NVidia is taking up two slots? Sorry if this is a dumb ? but I just need to make sure! Im assuming I just pop that in above the Nvidia card and run two graphix cards then? Just want to make sure. Thanks in advance. The only thing occupying these ports is the NVidia 6800 card anyways...what the hell else would I put in there! :D
     
  8. macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #8
    If nothing else is in the two unblocked PCI-X slots, then yes, you could throw that extra Radeon in there. Unfortunately, for your situation, that won't work, since you have 2 AGP graphics cards and 0 free AGP slots.
     
  9. macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #9
    You can't put the 9600 XT in there. That card needs the AGP slot, which the nVidia is using. You must use a PCI grfx card.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Location:
    Bay YAYrea
    #10
    OK so that card needs to go in an AGP slot which is being used. So I assume the best PCI card out there is this one:
    Radeon 9200 Mac Edition

    So technically if I buy this card and add it to the system I could run 4 monitors all as expanded real estate (not mirrored) if I wanted right? So if I head out and buy this, would the Mac recognize it and expand the monitors or would there be any tweaking on my end? 2nd thing is does anyone have one for sale or know a cheap place to purchase one at? Thanks again for all the help!
     
  11. macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #11
    I think you can run 4 monitors. The grfx cards will be able to, but I am not sure what Mac OS X supports.
    Anyone else tried 4 monitors?
    The Radeon 9200 is not an expensive card ($ 129,-) and it is available at the AppleStore.

    BTW..... I wonder how XPlane will look like on 4 monitors..... (4 x 23 inch) < drool > ! :)

    :cool:
     
  12. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Location:
    Bay YAYrea
    #12
    Thank you for the info. Im just plannin on 3 monitors at the moment. One 23" HD Cinema, One Samsung 19" and one Samsung 17". But next year I will try and add another Apple Display. Im droolin just thinking about it!
     

Share This Page