Multiple monitors

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by m4rc, Jan 4, 2004.

  1. m4rc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi

    Anyone know if it's possible to have several monitors linked to one mac? I want to have several LCD's wall mounted in an office reception each showing different images, cycling through sample images, web design work etc. As for the Mac, well, it can be any that would do the job - I dont have the hardware yet, not until I know if it's possible or I am just dreaming.

    Marc
     
  2. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #2
    Re: Multiple monitors

    Yes... Mac's actually do this very well... and have supported it since the Mac II (1987, I believe).

    http://www.macrumors.com/downloads/darkscreen.jpg

    It acts as one contiguous screen.

    You just need a Mac that has PCI cards to add multiple video cards. All modern Mac OS version support it.

    Finding the slideshow software that does exactly what you want might take some looking

    arn
     
  3. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
  4. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #4
    You can just get an old powermac and fill it with three or four videocards. Or get a new one and the vidcard in a new Mac can support 2 screens. Ofcourse you can always put another vid card in there for another monitor!
     
  5. sabroson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago
    #5
    I have a Powermac G4 (dual 1Ghz) with one Video card and two LCD monitors.

    The monitors are 17" Dell brand... I know... they were cheaper than the Apple brand. They work beautifully.

    People at first think I have a Dell but when they see screen they become confused.
     

Share This Page