Multiple Speakers in iTunes 6.0.2

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by iam1080, Jan 11, 2006.

  1. iam1080 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    #1
    I accidentally discovered a new feature in the latest update of iTunes. It seems, Apple has finally given us the ability to stream iTunes to more than just one Airport Express. I only own 1 express but there appears to be the option to select more than one. In the AirTunes panel, I already have 'Multiple Speakers' selected. My iTunes is simultaneously playing through my Powerbook speakers as well as my Express. For those of you with more than one Express, get cracking and see what happens.
     
  2. LifeIsCheap macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney, Oz.
    #2
    Can't see it...

    Sorry for being a bit thick, but I can't see this option. I've got a PB and an AE but nowhere under iTunes -> Prefs can I see an option for multiple speakers. I've got iTunes 6.0.2 running on 10.4.4...

    Help!
     
  3. Macciee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #3
    Where exactly do you do this?
     
  4. Sedulous macrumors 68000

    Sedulous

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    #4
    Looks like this:
     

    Attached Files:

  5. doug.hall macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #5
    If you can't see it you probably need to update the fireware in your AE to version 6.3. Once you've updated the firmware reset the AE and then if you restart iTunes you should see the new option.

    I've used it but I find that there is a reduction in sound quality and you also loose the ability to adjust the volume from the iTunes volume slider for remote speakers. This has an impact on the functionality of my Salling clicker software which enables me to control my powerbook via my mobile:(
     
  6. LifeIsCheap macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney, Oz.
    #6
    Yup, spot on! Tried it and it works perfectly. (Got the update from here) This is gonna cost me the price of another AE :rolleyes:

    Thanks!
     
  7. m_gerbik macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Location:
    The Big Scrapple
    #7
    Mine's a fraction of a second off between my PowerBook and AE. But it's very cool. I was wishing that feature existed just today because I get no bass from the PB and the speakers are in the next room.
     

Share This Page