MUSICIANS - how is the 2012 MBA going with GB, Logic, ProTools etc?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by danistyping, Nov 2, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    Any thoughts, info or tips regarding a 2012 13" macbook pro with Garage Band, Logic Pro, Protools etc...please share. Switching from a 2011 Macbook Pro. DEFINITELY looking forward to no more 2.5" HDD...but is the processor up for recording on a 30 track logic file with effects?

    I'm going i7 and use an mBox, for what it's worth.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #2
    get the 8gb upgrade. if you peg the CPU at 100% in logic just freeze some tracks.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #3
    recently my 2008 MBA was upgraded to a 2012 MBA. LP & GB were functional on it, but were not as snappy as my PowerMac G5. GB runs excellent on my new MBA with a 128GB SSD and 4GB ram. I couldn't test LP8 as the installer didn't like the intel CPU.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    #4
    Haven't run any of that stuff, but have played with serious music programs before (including notation based).

    My guess is that the Air should do it okay, but definitely get the 8GB RAM option.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #5
    I use Ableton Live on my 2012 Air and it runs great.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    Ah thanks guys...definitely going with the i7 and 8GB RAM.


    Anyone aware if there are any mac-compatible audio interfaces that run on USB 3.0 or thunderbolt? The possibilities, specifically with fixing latency issues, seem pretty cool.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Redbull916

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #7
    I've got a 2011 i7 with 4GB of ram and Propellorhead Reason 6.5 runs superb.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    #8
    I am using Cakewalk UA-1G on my iMac which is a USB interface and has a superior bit rate and lot of hardware options.

    Main thing I got out of it is that I have SPDIF output and still have volume controls on my iMac :)

    I am not sure about USB 3.0, but since the USB port is backward compatible there should not be any issues.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    #9
    Got an update for us on how it worked out? I will probably be helping to set up some music stuff soon, and would like to know how it went with the Air.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page