MX518 on Mac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by pknz, Jul 10, 2005.

  1. pknz macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #1
    Logitech has released a new MX mouse the MX518. It has no Mac support from Logitech ie System requirements are XP, Logitech have only made software for Windows.MX518

    I have heard that all mice can just be plugged in and used, I assume that is the same for this mouse.

    But the software lets the user change some of the mouse settings such as the level of DPI. This will need some software to do this. Will USB OverDrive let me completely configure this mouse? Will I be able to do everything the official Windows software would allow?

    Or am I better off sticking with the MX510 which has Mac support and software from Logitech? MX510

    Thanks
     
  2. Jedda macrumors regular

    Jedda

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #2
    From what i can see, the software that comes with the mouse is much more advanced than simple button mapping.

    That said, you may be able to use this mouse on your mac, but i highly doubt you will find any way to change the sensitivity settings.

    Sorry about that.
     
  3. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #3
    I don't see why USB Overdrive would have trouble with this mouse. You might want to try and find someone who already has this mouse and try it with your Mac and USB Overdrive just to be sure.
     
  4. pknz thread starter macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #4
    Ok thanks.

    Has anyone got this mouse?

    Im waiting on a reply from Logitech aswell.
     
  5. dubbz macrumors 68020

    dubbz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Alta, Norway
    #5
    I read a test where it was noted that the DPI could be adjusted in Linux without needing any special software. I figure it should work in OS X too.
     
  6. *.abe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Ayr, SW Scotland
    #6
    I've got this mouse, plus the MX500 & MX510's (and a whole plethora of other ones). I'll give the Logitech software a bash on the Mac later and see if it allows me to change the settings for the resolution etc.

    Either way, the mouse is very good from many angles, and a heck of a lot more sensitive than even the MX510.

    I will report back later!
     
  7. *.abe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Ayr, SW Scotland
    #7
    Ok after playing around a little, SetPoint (Logitech's Speed Control Software) is only available for Windows XP. USB Overdrive however, gives you complete control over the mouse and especially the resolution settings.

    Either way the MX518 does work out of the box, on standard settings with my Laptop here just the same as all other Mice I have.
     
  8. pknz thread starter macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #8

    Cool, thanks for that *.abe :cool:
     
  9. pknz thread starter macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #9
    Does anyone else have any experience with this mouse?
     
  10. pknz thread starter macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #10
    Ok, so I bought this mouse today MX518.

    Plug it in, laser lights up and it moved the cursor around the screen. But the buttons don't have any affect.

    I turn USB Overdrive On/Off, no change, check Logitech Control Center (software for the MX510). Still no clicks.

    I restart and at the login screen it works, then logs in and works for 5 seconds, as i draw 'selection' boxes on the desktop. Then suddenly stops working leaving a selection box frozen on the screen. It stays there until I plug my Micro$oft mouse in.

    Tried different USB ports no avail.
    Tried it on a Windows machine and it works fine.

    Please help.
     
  11. *.abe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Ayr, SW Scotland
    #11
    Is this on the iBook or the iMac ?

    I'm using my MX-518 on my iBook just now to send this message and haven't experienced any problems whatsoever. Although not terribly likely, there is a possibility that you have a faulty mouse. If you find it doesn't work in either of your Mac's then i'd be inclined to contact the place you purchased it from to either get it thoroughly tested and/or give you a replacement.

    Also as a side thought, if you've got the Logitech Control Center and/or USB Overdrive installed on the Mac's you're trying the mouse on then maybe it's worthwhile removing that software? I know for definite that the MX-518 works fine with USB Overdrive installed, but I've not re-installed Logitechs Control Center since installing Tiger so I don't know of any side effects with this software installed.

    I hope this helps in some way, let us know how it goes?
     
  12. YS2003 macrumors 68020

    YS2003

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Location:
    Finally I have arrived.....
    #12
    Does it mean good or bad when you say "more senstitive" compared to MX510? I read the specs on MX518 and it seems it is a step above MX510, sans Logitech control center for Mac. I have the regular wireless notebook mouse from Logitech and its tracking capabilities are not as accurate as, say MX1000 (this is not a fair comparison). I am looking for a good mouse I can use at home and while travelling and this wired MX518 looks a good candidate to fill my need.
     
  13. matticus008 macrumors 68040

    matticus008

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #13
    You should not have the Logitech Control Center software installed. I don't believe the Mac version is compatible with that mouse. This would explain why it works at login but stops shortly afterward (when LCC's agent is loaded). Uninstall the software (properly and completely) and see if you are still having problems.
     
  14. *.abe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Ayr, SW Scotland
    #14
    Hmm as an example, if I moved the MX-518 one inch left, it would move the pointer on the screen left - but if i moved the MX-510 the same one inch, it wouldn't move as far on the screen.

    One major bonus with this mouse is that on compatible systems (read: systems running Windows and Logitech's Software) you can, on-the-fly change the sensitivity settings of the mouse. Unfortunately not something possible with Mac OS yet :(

    You are right, you can't compare the likes of the Cordless Optical for Laptops and the MX-1000, but I can't really say the MX-500/510/518 are the smallest mice Logitech offer (all physically the same size). The MX1000 certainly is the least portable. I think the best tracking, compact Mouse from Logitech is the V-500.
     
  15. pknz thread starter macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #15
    The problem has been partially fixed.

    Removing Logitech Control Centre has enabled the mouse to click.

    But USB Overdrive can't seem to map buttons on this mouse. Left button is normal mouse click, right is right click and the scroll wheel scroll. Every other button (apart from increasing/decreasing sensitivity) is a normal mouse click.


    Click the buttons when USB Overdrive is open - which should highlight that button in USB Overdrive - does nothing.

    USB Overdrive does map for the Micro$oft mouse.

    Are you able to map buttons on this mouse?

    Thanks for all your help.
     
  16. pknz thread starter macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #16
    Worky

    Problem solved.

    I had not uninstalled the Logitech Control Centre properly, ie I just deleted what I could find.

    LCC comes with an uninstaller, so I reinstalled LCC so I could uninstall it.

    Works fine with USB Overdrive now.

    Once again thanks for all your help :)
     
  17. dm33186 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    #17
    I have it myself but it is on my gaming pc. The sensitivity should be able to be changed even without software as the 518 has buttons that change the res. in the hardware.

    USB Overdrive though...would that work with the mx900 or not since it is bluetooth?
     
  18. YS2003 macrumors 68020

    YS2003

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Location:
    Finally I have arrived.....
    #18
    Since MX518 does not officially support OS X, I chose MX510 today. I like its performance. My other PB is paired with MX1000; so i wanted something different (wired one in case I need to bring it with me on the road).
     
  19. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #19
    Nope, unfortunately.
     
  20. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #20
    I bought an MX510 at Circuit City since they were on clearance for $34.96. I switched out my Logitech Trackman Marble while the machine was running and it detected the change fine and loaded settings for the MX510. It's a great mouse with lots of buttons and it doesn't need much work space, which is good for me. However, I noticed that, when I switched back and disconnected and re-connected things, the trackball didn't work. I guess I'll have to do a restart later. Oh well.
     

Share This Page