My 1.3 Ghtz Sawtooth G4

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by gotohamish, Apr 8, 2003.

  1. gotohamish macrumors 65816

    gotohamish

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Location:
    BKLN
    #1
    Hi

    I got the Gigadesigns 1.25Ghtz upgrade card for my 500MHtz Sawtooth.

    This card is able to run at 1.33 in Digital Audio + later G4s, but not the sawtooth.

    However, thanks to http://www.amugsicilia.it:16080/pages/news/giga/index.htm I now have a 1.3GHtz.

    The extra cool thing is that due to a few issues, Mac OS X did not recognise the speed of the original upgrade (it said 0MHtz!!). About this Mac just said PowerPC G4.

    now it says...
     
  2. shadowfax macrumors 603

    shadowfax

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #3
    what does the card look like? i've never seen one, i don't think.
     
  3. aethier macrumors 6502a

    aethier

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Location:
    Montréal, Canada
    #4
    HOw does it work to install the actual chip?
    do you simply remove the heatsink take out the motoral chip and place the new one?
    or is it more of a complex task?
    also does it run fast? like if it was a AMD chip, waht would you say its speed was...

    -aethier
     
  4. tjwett macrumors 68000

    tjwett

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NYC
    #5
    kewlness. i'd like to see some pics of the process.
     
  5. gotohamish thread starter macrumors 65816

    gotohamish

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Location:
    BKLN
    #6
    It looks like this:
     
  6. gotohamish thread starter macrumors 65816

    gotohamish

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Location:
    BKLN
    #7
    Sorry, pic didn't work...
     
  7. gotohamish thread starter macrumors 65816

    gotohamish

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Location:
    BKLN
    #8
    You unclip the heatsink, then cafefully pull up the original CPU card.

    The gigadesigns card already has the copper heatsink and fan attached, so you just line it up, push it down into the CPU pins, then screw in the 3 screws.

    It comes set for 100Htz Bus, at 1.25Ghtz (so Digital Audio and later users must change it for 133Htz at 1.33Ghtz). All 5 jumper pins are in place, but if you shift J2 and J4 along one pin (see pic) then it will run at 1.3Ghtz at 100Htz in a Sawtooth.
     
  8. gotohamish thread starter macrumors 65816

    gotohamish

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Location:
    BKLN
    #9
  9. ian559 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    #10
    So you recomend it? I am thinking of doing my 733 quicksilver
     
  10. gotohamish thread starter macrumors 65816

    gotohamish

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Location:
    BKLN
    #11
    Yes I suppose, if u do a lot of itunes ripping!

    The machine I have was a 500Htz, and the upgrade doesn't really seem to have made too much difference. I see less spinning beachball, but I still see it.

    It's better though, and it'll keep me happy until I can get a Rev 2 G5 (whatever it is)...

    hamish
     

Share This Page