My 12" iBook is slow.....

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Chef Medeski, Jul 23, 2005.

1. Chef Medeski macrumors 6502a

Chef Medeski

I have recently purchased a 12" iBook from CompUSA. However, moving from a 1.5 Ghz IBM, I don't think its just a perception.

I was wondring if its the 1.2 Ghz processor or just the standard 256 ram. I am new to Macs, so I don't know if their ram or processor intensive. My usualy run of the mill prgrams which are all used simultenausly are EarthDesk,Mail,Dashboard,Pages,Firefox,iChat,iTunes,iPhoto. Those are all opened and my cimputer still takes 2-3 sec. to open a window. Or a 7-8 sec. to zoom in on a PDF in preview. So, will going out and buying a 512 MB stick fix my problem? Or should I return it and get a Powerbook, since I got it from CompUSA?

2. Capt Underpants macrumors 68030

Capt Underpants

It's the 256 MB RAM.

Honestly, the powerbooks aren't much more powerful than the iBooks. Returning an iBook for a PB at this point in time wouldn't be the greatest of ideas. I would stick a 512 MB stick in and see if your troubles go away. If not, return the RAM and the iBook.

3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

CanadaRAM

You have about 1 Gb of programs opened in 256 Mb of RAM... it's a small miracle the machine is functional at all... Get thee to a RAM upgrade, posthaste. a 1 Gb module would not be amiss, either, as you only have one socket to work with in the iBook.

4. macmanmatty macrumors regular

I have calculated my velocity so precisely that a
    I agree, It's the ram you need at least 512 mb do do almost anything. Get more ram and your problems should be fixed.

5. Chef Medeski thread starter macrumors 6502a

Chef Medeski

Thanks for all the help. I didn't know that the programs were so RAM intensive. It takes so long to open the programs I just started to leave them open. I might go for that 1 gig. Again, Thanks for all that help.

6. skywalkgr macrumors newbie