My adventures in Core Solo Thermal Paste Land

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by livingfortoday, May 11, 2006.

  1. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #1
    Well, after all the talk of misapplied thermal paste on the MBP, I started to worry that maybe my Core Solo could be suffering from the same problem. I downloaded "Core Duo Temp", which actually registered my Solos temp, and at idle, I was running at around 62-63 C. Under load, running HandBrake or folding with 100% CPU use, I was at 78 - 79 degrees C. That's insane. I know, I know, the processor can take it, yadda yadda yadda, but I can't!

    I decided to open up the Mini and investigate, and while you can't tell from the pictures, the thermal paste is well-applied, but completely dried up. Feels like it burnt off, pretty much:

    [​IMG]

    I scrapped off as much as I could, and applied some Arctic Silver on the Core Solo:

    [​IMG]

    I've been running it with 100% load for the past hour now, and I've maxed out at 75 degrees C. Not much of a result, really, but it's a little better, and a little's better than nothing!

    Just thought you guys would like to know!
     
  2. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    Well at least Apple knows how to apply it right on something. :rolleyes:
     
  3. dornoforpyros macrumors 68040

    dornoforpyros

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #3
    does opening your mac and messing with the thermal paste on the processor void your warranty?

    I just find it odd that this seems to be the latest tweak people are making.
     
  4. livingfortoday thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #4
    Probably!

    But I can't think of how Apple would know unless you broke something in there.

    Question for anyone reading this. I noticed on the AE card, there was a plug for the antenna labeled "Main", but there was a second plug on the other side that said "Aux" or something to that effect (forgot to take a pic). Could you conceivably hook up a second antenna, or what?
     
  5. Rocksaurus macrumors 6502a

    Rocksaurus

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Not that odd
     

Share This Page