My Browser Pauses....Advice Appreciated

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mrboatbuilder, Aug 31, 2003.

  1. mrboatbuilder macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Location:
    Mapleton, Oregon
    #1
    Hello:

    I was wondering if someone would be able to help me with a problem I seem to have with my browser.

    I use IE 5.1 because that is what is on the machine, and when I looked at Netscape it said I needed OSX to download. I am still using 8.1. What I have is an iMac PowerPC G3 400

    My problem is that when a web page is loading it pauses for what seems like forever, then it starts up again. Sometimes it takes as long as 3 minutes to load for instance eBay's
    home page. It also does the pause thing when I hit the "back" button. The small black and white turning circle on the page just stops, and it sits there.

    I tried increasing the disk cache, and that help for a while, but it seems as though tonight it is back to it's old tricks again. I thought if I emptied the disck cache it would work
    better again, but I cannot find anything in the help files about how to do that.

    Would another browser be a better choice. I really would rather have something other than a MS product on my Mac.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks

    Al
     
  2. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    iMac G3 400 MHz running OS 8.1 ???

    Are you sure you're not using OS 9.1 ?
    Oh well, using IE 5.1 it could be a good idea to delete its cache, like you tried.
    The IE cache is located here: System Folder:preferences:MS Internet Cache:IE Cahce.waf
    (sometimes it's a good idea to let Sherlock find "cache" on your HD... :) )
    Running Mac OS 9.x I recommend usng both Internet Explorer 5.1.6 and Netscape 7.0.2
    Usually if a site doesn't work well on one browser, the other should work fine.

    Good luck.

    Edit:
    BTW, increasing the memory size of the application can do wonders aswell. Try setting IE to something like 20 MB.
     
  3. mrboatbuilder thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Location:
    Mapleton, Oregon
    #3
    MacsRgr8:

    Thanks for the reply.

    I did goof on the OS Version. It is 9.1.

    I am going to try your suggestions.

    I thought that on the Netscape site it said I needed OSX for version 7.

    I will go look again, and then download it. Again, my priority is my iMac, and I would prefer not to use MS stuff if I can get away with it.

    If I can get my browser working better I AM going to use the "Drag and Drop" for my Windows machine suggested at the end of your text.

    Thanks again.

    Al Gordy
    Mapleton, Oregon
     
  4. Catfish_Man macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    I suggest using Mozilla. I believe there is a version of Mozilla 1.3.1 floating around the net for OS9. Do a google search for it. Other than that, I would just say to use OSX. There are a TON of browsers for it.
     
  5. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #5
    Netscape 7.0.2 is the last "classic" version.
    From Netscape version 7.1 onwards, it's for Mac OS X.

    Using Mozilla could be a good idea too.
    Seacrh in http://www.versiontracker.com/macos
     

Share This Page