My Cable Internet is faster than T1?

Discussion in 'Community' started by CubaTBird, Nov 6, 2004.

  1. CubaTBird macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    #1
    It seems that C|Net claims that my Cox high speed cable Internet is faster than a T1 connection. How could this be? :eek:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    T1 is *only* 1.5mbps down, difference is, T1 is also 1.5mbps up ;)
     
  3. homerjward macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #3
    :eek: am i to assume t3 is 6 to 30mbps up?!:eek:
     
  4. DVW86 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Location:
    Washington State
    #4
    I have a 3mbps cable connection too with a 256kbps upload. I have yet to have issues with my download speed, but I could really use faster uploads.
     
  5. MacNut macrumors Core

    MacNut

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    CT
  6. jared_kipe macrumors 68030

    jared_kipe

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #6
    My comcast cable is about 1.5-1.8Mbps, I just checked it a few min ago because it died for a few min. However I used to live in university sponsored apartments, and those had like 3-4Mbps. It was so quick, I think I even saw some downloads reach beyond that and get up to a megabyte a second or so.
     
  7. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #7
    Cox now offers 6mbit downloads in most areas, but I think that's only for business accounts. They upgraded the 3mbit/256k accounts to 4mbit/512k in August (w00t! :D) and the 4mbit/512k accounts to 5mbit/(either 768k or 1mbit) as well.
     
  8. iris_failsafe macrumors 6502

    iris_failsafe

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #8
    My cable company offers up to 622mb/s downloads, so I would say that your cable company is telling the true since a T1 os only 1.5mb/s
     
  9. homerjward macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #9
    yeah, mine does that sometimes too. 1.5mbps should be no faster than 187.5KBps sustained but i sometimes get 250KBps sustained and 800 in very short bursts:eek:
     
  10. AmigoMac macrumors 68020

    AmigoMac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    l'Allemagne
    #10
    Hello? Cable @ 622mb/s ??? :eek:

    Dude, isn't kb/s ...? :rolleyes:
     
  11. Chip NoVaMac macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #11
    For Cox-Fairfax VA the account I have is 4mbit/512k. And the CNet stats are:
     

    Attached Files:

  12. johnnyjibbs macrumors 68030

    johnnyjibbs

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #12
    They're talking about the US. For us mere Europeans, we have to stick with crappy 256k/512k broadband download speeds until our countries get with the times :rolleyes: :D
     
  13. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #13
    Doesn't matter where they're talking about, no one does cable at that kind of speed, 30mbps maybe, but 622mbps, LOL!!!!!

    Oh, and I'm in the UK, Essex in fact ;) 3000/256 here :D :p
     
  14. AmigoMac macrumors 68020

    AmigoMac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    l'Allemagne
    #14
    1Mb/128kb Here!! :) , Yeah, 622 mbps? That would be awesome, Firewire is just crap :D ... but wait, I heard that some providers in Korea are expecting to introduce gigabit soon... I can imagine that in Korea, it's the broadband country. Speed/price-wise
     
  15. AmigoMac macrumors 68020

    AmigoMac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    l'Allemagne
    #15
    The guy was talking about south-america... ;)
    Broadband density is about 0.5%.
     

Share This Page