My camera it dosen´t appear on my desktop

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by yoak, Mar 28, 2006.

  1. macrumors 65816

    yoak

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #1
    All of a sudden iPhoto dosen´t seem to recognize that it´s a camera connected. It dosen´t show up with an icon on the desktop either.
    But when I unplugg it, my ibook tells me that I have removed device wrongly and need to drag it´s icon to the bin first.

    Any idea what´s going on here?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    drumpat01

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    #2
    you could try reinstalling iLife. Was it on your mac when you got it? if so it should be on your OSX Install dvd. Maybe that would fix it.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #3
    My camera never shows up on my desktop. It's supposed to?
     
  4. adk
    macrumors 68000

    adk

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Location:
    Stuck in the middle with you
    #4
    Some cameras don't mount on the desktop. Don't know why except that it's a PITA. Can you still import pictures?
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #5
    I can still import pictures and everything just fine - maybe only l337 cameras mount to the desktop. Mine is only a kodak easyshare so who knows.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 65816

    yoak

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #6
    Maybe I´ll try yo reinstall ilife. Just gotta find that disk
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Laser47

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #7
    I would try reformatting the cameras memory card if you dont have any pictures on it, it might be corrupted. Also check to see if the camera shows up in disk utility. The computer might be recognizing the camera but it cannot mount or read the memory card.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    supremedesigner

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    #8
    same problem...

    I have same problem, my new camera icon doesn't show up on my desktop. But I can import pictures and movies just fine.

    My camera is Canon PowerShot SD 450 (gotta love that baby!) :D

    My old camera, Sony Cybershot (bought it in 2003) and the camera show up on my desktop. Strange.
     
  9. macrumors 68040

    Koodauw

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Madison
    #9
    cannon camera's dont show up on your desktop, and for some reason a Sony will. Kinda weird if you ask me, but there are other threads the go into detail as to why. Because of this I now use a 5-1 reader, so everything shows up on the desktop.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 65816

    yoak

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #10
    I got a Nikon Coolpix, and I can´t transfer pictures from it either
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    n-abounds

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    #11
    Damn I have a Canon Powershot SD400, and I wish it would show up on the desktop, just because it helps me organize...you know how it is with digital, a lot of stuff can easily get lost...
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Pistol Pete

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Location:
    So Cal
    #12
    my pont and shoot does....my nikon slr doesnt...
     
  13. macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #13
    Get a card reader. It'll mount on the desktop.
     
  14. macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #14
    If it's not the memory card, maybe it's the USB cable. Do you have another cable to try?
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 65816

    yoak

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #15
    This is weird. I repaired permissions. Then I finaly managed to get the icon on my desktop, but it came up as a folder:confused:
    This has never happened before.
    I had to drag them into iPhoto. That worked fine, but I did not manage to eject the folder icon or drag it to the trash.
     

Share This Page