My ClearDock ain't working!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by nps4474, May 15, 2004.

  1. nps4474 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    #1
    Does anyone know why ClearDock (Installed on a powerbookG4 about a year old model running Jaguar ver.10.2.8) has to have the laptop rebooted in order for any changes (Collor or floationg icons) to take effect? It sucks to have such a cool ap but have to reboot every time I play around with it, Please someone help!
     
  2. Wes macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #2
    I'm not familiar with this program, but have you tried restarting the dock?

    If you haven't this, is how you do it: Go to: Applications: Utilities: Terminal

    Open it you will see a screen with a prompt with something like:

    Last login: Thu May 13 19:25:09 on ttyp1
    Welcome to Darwin!
    [Your-Computer:~] usr%

    Type the command 'top' (without quotes) and press enter, you will see a lot of text. Drag out the window to make sure you see all the entries.

    You will see a PID, COMMAND, %CPU, TIME and etc. columns.

    Take note of the PID number. Close this terminal and when it asks whether you really want to terminate you can safely click yes.

    Now open a new shell: Terminal file menu: new shell.
    The same message will be waiting for you as before. Now type:

    Kill PID

    PID is the number you took note of before.

    Your command will look like kill 756
    Press enter, the dock should go away, before relaunching with hopefully, your new settings.
     
  3. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #3
    Are you sure you have the latest version of ClearDock and of Application Enhancer?

    Also, for a less technical way to restart the dock, you could use an application such as Onyx or TinkerTool. I believe both of those, and similar ones, have that option.

    JW
     
  4. Frisco macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Location:
    Utopia
    #4
    My changes take effect after I click apply changes, although I am running the Panther version of APE. If I remember correctly when I had Jaguar it required a logout/login for the changes to take effect.

    So if this little quirk annoys you, you can upgrade to Panther or try a another program that does the same thing like Transparent Dock.
     
  5. titaniumducky macrumors 6502a

    titaniumducky

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    #5
    That's the layman way to play with it (I think). This should work.

    After you change something, don't reboot. Open Terminal and type "killall Dock"

    This will restart the Dock. Changes should now appear.
     

Share This Page