my confusion over intel tiger

Discussion in 'macOS' started by joelmac1, Mar 17, 2007.

  1. joelmac1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #1
    heres the thing, i have a intel iMac, core duo, 17" 1.83 ghz etc. and i have somehow lost my install DVD for tiger.... so i went on to the apple store to buy another copy of tiger.... only to find that i cant buy a copy of tiger for intel?!?! can this be right.... if so what am i to do?
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
  3. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #3
    No, it isn't psychofreak. Leopard will be, but there is no boxed Intel version of OS X 10.4 Tiger.

    To the OP: You'll need to order a replacement set of system DVDs. It will cost money, but not as much as a full-fledged copy of OS X. Talk to the guys at the Genius Bar.
     
  4. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Oops! Better do research before replying! Sorry...
     
  5. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #5
    Not sure if the 20" DVDs will work but might be worth a gamble at this price
     
  6. cwedl macrumors 65816

    cwedl

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    #6
    The reason why you can't buy a universal retail version of Tiger is because all Intel iMacs came with Tiger so what's the point?

    Speak to Apple!

    Surely that illegal?
     
  7. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #7
    Call AppleCare, they will replace the discs under warrantee.
     

Share This Page