My friend's hosed MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by gammamonk, Oct 3, 2006.

  1. gammamonk macrumors 6502a

    gammamonk

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #1
    Here is a short video clip of my friend's hosed machine.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #2
    Looks like the monitor cable has come loose.

    Give AppleCare a ring?
     
  3. meepm00pmeep macrumors 6502

    meepm00pmeep

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    that looks serious... hope he's still under warranty
     
  4. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #4
    Seeing as how the MacBook Pro hasn't been out for a year yet, that's a given ;)

    Unless he did something stupid of course :(
     
  5. nodabs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #5
    :eek: WHOA ... i think i might fall over if i bought one and it started doing that! Hopefully it gets Apple Care'd right away... Apple Care'd... definitely NOT a word
     
  6. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #6
    Unless Steve Job was his uncle, I guess you're right.:p

    Either a failing GPU or loose monitor cable as Pressure said. If you can test it with an external monitor, you can find out what is wrong. Does it do that all the time or just as random occasions?
     
  7. gammamonk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    gammamonk

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #7
    The LCD on the left is actually hooked up to the MBP, and it doesn't hose. He hasn't called Apple about it yet-- I'm not sure why.

    If he puts the machine to sleep, and then wakes it up, it goes back to normal. You'd think if it were a loose cable, that wouldn't make a difference.

    Weird.
     
  8. vv-tim macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    #8
    Has he tried resetting PRAM and NVRAM? (Ctrl-Apple-P-R for PRAM and holding the power button for five seconds w/ no battery or power cable plugged in for NVRAM) It could be something bogus is stuck in the BIOS *ahem* I mean EFI.

    I know the EFI controls a whole lot to do with the screen... so it's worth a shot.
     
  9. gammamonk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    gammamonk

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #9
    I don't know if he tried that. I'll suggest it to him. Thanks--
     
  10. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)

Share This Page