My Fun Field trip

Discussion in 'Community' started by Kwyjibo, Feb 11, 2004.

1. Kwyjibo macrumors 68040

Nov 5, 2002
    To start off this story I'm a student on the University of Illinois and I'm a freshman enrolled in this NPRE 101 class, or introduction to energy sources. In a special section you go on field trips to strange parts of the campus every tuesday. I happen to be in that section so I go on lots of fun trips. The most recent was the best so far because we made a trip to the Advanced Computer Building.

The Advanced Computer building is the home of the NCSA. The building was all secure and there was an obvious camera presence all over. Our tour guide gave a little histroy and its the home of Mosaic which many people probably remember. Well we walked through and the guy explained they were approaching a petabyte of storage and would probably reach that goal by summer at the latest. Then we moved on to the computing clusters and they showed us some older linux clusters and then they moved to the new stuff. He walked us over to a brand new cluster that comes in #4 on the most powerful list right behind the VT mac cluster. He was also confident that if he had further time ot bench mark he would make the nubmer 3 spot. I was soo impressed to be able to see this type of facility.

Then we walked downstairs and go to walk through the air conditioner. All of the tour was amazing and it was astonishing to think about all the histroy and power in the rooms I walked through. I don't have many specs for the machine because I was wandering off but i'm sure they are online somewhere.

well theres my coolest field trip so far I thought you guys might enjoy the tale.
  2. G4scott macrumors 68020

Jan 9, 2002
    Austin, TX