My G3 reset ???

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mikey.c, Aug 8, 2006.

  1. mikey.c macrumors member

    mikey.c

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #1
    Hello,

    Last night I closed down my G3, This morning I started it up and It seems to have reset it's self, all the icons I had put in the Dock where nolonger there.
    My JPG pictures on the Descktop don't show the pictures, just the Preview icon.
    I can live with all this, no problem BUT...

    Firefox has also reset it's self:
    Compleatly reset, My Bookmarks are all gone, I reset the settings the way I like it with small icons and writing underneath but, when I open a new window it has reset it's self. every time I open Firefox I have to reset it..
    Also the search bar has nothing in it, when I click on Add Engines, it takes me to the firefox site, but the Google and Yahoo engines are nolonger there..

    Is there a way to take the computer back to settings of a few days ago ?

    What's Happening ???
    Mikey..
     
  2. rafifreak00 macrumors regular

    rafifreak00

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    Kansas. No, not on a farm.
    #2
    Same thing happened to a colleague of mine...

    He went to the "Geniuses" and they didn't do anything...
     
  3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    Have you changed the name of any system folders? If you change your Home folder's name, this can happen. It can also happen if you are running very low on free space on your boot up drive.
     
  4. mikey.c thread starter macrumors member

    mikey.c

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #4
    No I've changed nothing and I have about 6GB left..

    Also My iCal has lost all events, birthdays and so on..
    I found a way to restore my Firefox Bookmarks (thank God) and if I can find a way to
    restore iCal I will be very happy.

    Firefox however does reset the Custumized windows every time one is opened.
     
  5. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5
    If you're sure you haven't changed your Home folder's name (it can be done through the Sidebar, remember) then maybe use Disk Utility to Verify your Disk. :)
     

Share This Page