my g4 runs at 80 degrees!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! celcius

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Mord, May 12, 2004.

  1. macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
    #1
    one of my g4's in my dual g4 cube reports 80 degrees!!!!!! wouldent it blow up at this heat? the other one is at 40

    I am wandering weather my heat sensor is just faulty is there any way a 7400 g4 would run at that tempreture?
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Location:
    Muncie, Indiana
    #2
    Yes there is, and I hope you have a chassis fan - your system components are not going to last very long at that temperature.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
    #3
    here is a base fan and one prosessor is at 40 and one is at 80 but the system is 100% stable which is odd
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Location:
    54140
    #4
    holy cow... that's HOT!

    you might want to put a few fans on that thing!

    otherwise, i am not aware on how to test the sensor to see if its working... maybe put it in a freezer and see if it goes down to zero?

    (DO NOT DO THAT, IT'S A BAD IDEA)
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    JOD8FY

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Location:
    United States
    #5
    Sell your stove and put a few fans in that thing! When you need to cook, just take out the fans and there you go - boiling water!!! :D :D :D (almost - I know it boils at 100 C...)

    JOD8FY
     
  6. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #6
    Not really, most of the low power G4s Apple is using are 85°C chips.

    The fast suckers in the PowerMacs were 105°C chips.

    So with the stock heatsinks and fans it should be OK, unless you're living in a hot/humid area.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
    #7
    sun baked the tempretures you refer o are in farenhight mine are in celcius


    i replaced the copper plate with better ones and now it is at 48-56 degrees which is still high but acceptible
     
  8. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #8
    I think I said °C...

    Read some of the specs for Motorola chips, they are either 85°C or 105°C.

    The newest chips have a Tj (junction temp) of 85°C.

    http://e-www.motorola.com/files/32bit/doc/rel_qual_info/MC7447ARQI.pdf
     
  9. thread starter macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
    #9
    °C can stand for centigrade and celcius it is all very confusing the moto pdf is in faranhight


    why can't we all just use Kelvin :(

    I just ordered some srctic silver and will be getting proper copper plates soon (even my revised ones were bodge jobs)
     
  10. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #10
    You see specs in °F

    I see them like this... Tj = Junction Temp (Max) (°C)

    Which is on the PPC product page spec though it limits the top speed -- as we saw between the iMac and the PowerMac.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #11
    i think its funny how people expect processor to actually be cool when running.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
    #12
    did you read my post?




    theres no way they could run that hot as useing a powerbook would be like haveing boiling water on your lap
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    #13
    Speaking of heat, my mirror door G4 1.25 keeps freezing up (think OS9) lately. It happens at any time using any program or no program at all. I installed an ATI 9800 Pro about a month ago, but otherwise everything else is original.

    We've had some warmer weather here and I'm starting to wonder if it's the heat because when it's cooler in the room, the computer is fine.

    Is there an on board thermometer that I can use? How are you all figuring out the temps inside?
     
  14. thread starter macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
  15. macrumors 6502a

    zarathustra

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #15
    Fahrenheit. It's Fahrenheit.

    Also the junction temperature might be higher than the temperature when you touch (would you want to do that with the heatsink on or off?) the processor?
     
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    #16
    I can't get it to work. I found in the comments section that it doesn't support all G4 processors. I guess mine is one of those. I'll look around for another one though. Thanks for your help!
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    mpopkin

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC
    #17
    Do you have a specially made g4 cube, because apple does not make a standard Dual processor cube
    but i would see something about it, it can mean two things
    1) the heatsink failed and needs to be replaced
    2) the G4 Core is aged and has overloaded
    Replacement is about all i can think of
    but good luck
    try replacing the heatsink first




     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #18
    Yeah, I've never heard of a dual proccessor cube as well.
     
  19. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    #19
    Well, I got fed up and just stuck a portable fan in front of the tower and tilted it so it would be blowing into the intake spots. Crazy as it sounds, my computer hasn't locked up in hours. Hopefully this isn't a "Lisa's anti-tiger rock" situation.
     
  20. thread starter macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
  21. macrumors 68040

    JFreak

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    Tampere, Finland
    #21
    the silicon stuff they put between processor and heatsink might just have been dried for some reason, and it should be ok if you just put in new silicon. so take the heatsink off, brush the stuff away from both the heatsink and processor, apply new silicon on top of cpu and press the heatsink in place. be sure you have silicon everywhere between the cpu and the heatsink, but don't let it flow over onto the motherboard. and don't touch the silicon with your own skin.
     
  22. macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #22
  23. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    #23
    FYI, centigrade and Celsius are the same thing.
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    pjkelnhofer

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Location:
    Boston
    #24
    So clearly, from the Motorola specs the 7447a is designed to be running at temps of 85 degrees Celsius. So what is the problem. Remember we are talking about the temperature of the processor itself not the temperature of the air around it or the temperature of the outside case (which is why you would not be burned by a laptop with a processor hot enough to boil water in it).

    If the temperature of the air in the computer was 85 degrees Celsius. There would be more of a concern.

    I think gist of this is that if your processor is running at these temps... all is well.

    BTW, here is a good site about why Centigrade and Celsius mean the same thing.

    ps. How are people typing in the degree symbol?
     
  25. macrumors newbie

    paperkirin

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    #25
    On Mac OS X, [alt]+[0], like so: º
    This is using a British keyboard, but on macs I'm not so sure that this is so hugely different to the North American one.
     

Share This Page