My G5 just died!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by MrVegas, Sep 2, 2005.

  1. MrVegas macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Location:
    Columbia, Md.
    #1
    I was on vacation for a week, turned the Mac off before leaving. Turned it on tonight and it said I needed to download "Security Update 1.01 and Safari update 2.0.1" or something like that. So it downloaded and then said that I must restart the computer, which I clicked OK.

    So it started to reboot and then it just stayed stuck on the apple logo screen with the little circle on the bottom with the moving lines. Then the fans started to run really hard so I turned it off.

    what can I do ????
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Have you tried turning it on again? Is it the same each time? How long do you leave it before pulling the power?

    If you're still having problems, boot off the Restore CD/DVD that came with the G5 by putting it into the tray and holding C on start up. :)
     
  3. Daveway macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
    #3
    Don't forget the standard stuff:

    boot holding cmd-opt-o-f then type reset-all
    cmd-opt-p-r
     
  4. mpw Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    #4
    You might want to unplug any USB/FW peripheries and try restarting it my iMac G5 would never restart with either my USB ADSL modem or FW ext.HDD connected.
     
  5. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5

    :::Slaps forehead:::

    Yeah, do that first. :eek:



    And that, although I doubt it'll work but it's definitely worth a try. :)
     
  6. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #6
    Also boot from the OS X CD and try to repair the HD or permissions from the disk utility.
     
  7. MrVegas thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Location:
    Columbia, Md.
    #7
    I got as far as "reset-all" then the screen was dark for a few seconds and then the apple logo again .....

    when do I type cmd-opt-p-r?
     
  8. neocell macrumors 65816

    neocell

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Location:
    Great White North
    #9
    Had a similar problem with an older G4 iMac, start stopped it a bunch of times, lost all the data on the HDD. Was told by the tech I should have let it sit for a 'good' half hour (vs a bad one?) and if it still didn't boot go into Safe User mode (shift key on boot up I believe, at least it was with Panther) and then back everything up. Hopefully the other things posted work for you and you don't lose anything.

    **EDIT**
    clarification
     
  9. Soulstorm macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #10
    NO! Do not boot from the CD in order to repair permissions!

    Although this may seem the right thing to do, you should consider the fact that after a system update, critical system files are suubject to change. So, new permission definitions are used for these files, and those definitions do not exist in the OS X DVD that you used to install the OS.

    So, do not repair permissions via OS X CD. Or it may ruin something you need.
     
  10. MrVegas thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Location:
    Columbia, Md.
    #11
    still screwed

    well, I did all the things suggested on here and I still end up on the apple logo ....

    when I hold down the C with the Tiger CD in the drive, it does start up

    is there anything else I can do from there? should I try re-installing Tiger from the Tiger CD?
     
  11. RGunner macrumors 6502a

    RGunner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Midnight Sun
    #12
    Some things to try..

    After dong try this sequence:

    Boot with the four keys held down, OF + command + option (no shift key) and type the following:

    > reset-nvram <hit return>
    > set-defaults <hit return>
    > reset-all <hit return> : system will then reboot with cleared nvram

    if this doesnt work, then yes try to run the diagnostics on the G5 original install CD-rom (hold C to choose the diagnostics).

    when / if that passes, then try an archive / install
     
  12. MrVegas thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Location:
    Columbia, Md.
    #13

    OK. I did all this and then went to install OSX from the DVD. It was running great for about 30 minutes, then it prompted me to install the second DVD. So I did and now it seems to be hung up. It seems stuck on "Installing Previous iDVD themes" at writing files 37%.

    Any suggestions?
     
  13. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #14
    yeah i forgot about that, just do the repair disk.

    And why not just call apple and send it in to get repaired.
     
  14. RGunner macrumors 6502a

    RGunner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Midnight Sun
    #15
    Did it pass the G5 test?

    Not sure if you ran the G5 test extended (AHT from the DVD).

    If it did, you 'may' be ok with just a failed HD. Any other Macs around to try to boot your G5 into firewire mode to retrieve data?




     
  15. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #16

    Well, obviously start by salvaging data. Get all your stuff off the hard drive just in case you need to do a reformat and install of the OS. Then, repair permissions, it shouldn't break the system. Restart and if it doesn't work, restart again while holding C to do a reformat and install. :)

    Sorry, I can't think of any easier solutions right now. :eek:
     
  16. MrVegas thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Location:
    Columbia, Md.
    #17
    What is the "G5 test extended (AHT from the DVD)?"

    How do I run that?
     
  17. MrVegas thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Location:
    Columbia, Md.
    #18
    I decided to reformat and reinstall the OSX but the disk utility is saying that the "S.M.A.R.T. Status is Failing" and it won't let me erase the disk under disk utilities. Sheeesh.
     
  18. beatle888 macrumors 68000

    beatle888

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    #19
    is there an apple qualified computer repair shop around? is it under warranty? that sucks, i feel your pain.


    to make you feel better my car was just stolen. to old for theft insurance and now im stranded. dont know what to do. feel better? :p :eek: :(
     
  19. link92 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    #20
    Happened to me when my computer was 4 days old, got a new motherboard and both HDs replaced, both under warranty :)
     
  20. RGunner macrumors 6502a

    RGunner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Midnight Sun
    #21
    You should be dancing for joy..

    a hard drive can be had for $39-$59... vs $700 for a G5 logic board.

    the AHT (apple hardware test) is accessed by inserting the DVD G5 install disk and hitting option on bong. then choose the test program, thought that had been conveyed earlier.
     
  21. MrVegas thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Location:
    Columbia, Md.
    #22
    I actually bought a second hard drive a few weeks ago but had not installed it yet. I am convinced that my current HD is finished. Could anybody tell me the steps I would take in order to install the new HD?
     
  22. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #23
    Follow the instructions in the user manual?
     
  23. RGunner macrumors 6502a

    RGunner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Midnight Sun
    #24
    Pretty simple...

    1) needs to be a SATA drive.

    2) read and print this: http://manuals.info.apple.com/en/PMG5_HD_DIY.pdf

    3) follow aforementioned destructions.

    4) install Tiger OS on the NEW drive.

    5) after installation, go and try to salvage your data.
     
  24. MrVegas thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Location:
    Columbia, Md.
    #25
    OK. I will try this. Thanks for all the help! This forum is terrific.

    - Bob

    p.s.
    if I leave the old HDD in there for now, how will the Mac know to boot off the new (second) drive?
     

Share This Page