My iMac G3 Just Died

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by pammyspyce, Aug 22, 2005.

  1. pammyspyce macrumors regular

    pammyspyce

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area, Calif
    #1
    I can't believe this, my kids' Snow iMac just died. I was logging on to the admin name and it went POP and lost power. I unplugged it, moved it to a new outlet and nada. It's gone, isn't it? I only paid $150 for it, but still. Fixing it would be more hassle than it's worth, right? :( :(
     
  2. Jigglelicious macrumors 6502

    Jigglelicious

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    It depends on what went POP, but more than likely, it would cost more to fix it than to just purchase another used one.
     
  3. macEfan macrumors 65816

    macEfan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
    #3
    Sounds like another imac with a dead flyback transformer. It would cost around $150 to fix.
     
  4. pammyspyce thread starter macrumors regular

    pammyspyce

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area, Calif
    #4
    Ok, I'm embarassed to admit this, but...

    The power cable was loose. Hubby pushed it back in and it powered up fine. Ha!

    I did somethine equally stupid regarding my iMac G5. I was using it one day and it died. I figured it was the power supply issue that's plagued Rev A's. So I called Apple Care and they arranged to have a tech come repair it at my house. The morning of the repair my hubby decided to try and turn it on. He noticed the UPS wasn't on. Apparently we got a surge or something and the UPS lost power. He reset the UPS and the iMac started right up.

    Sometimes I just assume it's the worst possible problem first, and over look easy things, like power cords and such. Heh.
     
  5. joepunk macrumors 68030

    joepunk

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    a profane existence
    #5
    Well, at least it wasn't a $150 problem to begin with. Unlike my iMac with it's, I think, corrupted system folder. It won't even let me hold the "C" key and use the software restore/install CD's to start up :( :confused: Anyway, glade to hear that your computer is alright.
     
  6. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #6
    Happy to hear that it was something worse. Seems to be human nature to think the worst first. Problem solved. ;)

    I wish you well with your iMac joepunk. ;)
     
  7. iEdd macrumors 68000

    iEdd

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    Power cord loose.. omg.. Same as my prob with mine... I got pissed at something (a few years back), so I hit it (not that hard) and peoooaaawwwwwww..... (blank screen)... I was about to unplug and put it back in the box to take it to my apple place, when I realised the power cord unplugged a little too easily. Fixed it up, then all was well.
     
  8. rdowns Suspended

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #8
    Reminds me of my earlier life as a reseller in the early 90's. We used to sell service and support contracts to people who would call very, very often with problems. We'd often dispatch a tech only to find out a power cable was not plugged in. We quickly started asking all callers to see if we could fix it over the phone. Please unplug the unit and plug it back in. Voila, gives the caller an easy way out and saved us a trip.
     
  9. ajampam macrumors regular

    ajampam

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #9
    I will remember to check for this if I run into problems...handy so we dont embarass ourselves in front of the tech support guys....he he!
     

Share This Page