My iMac G5 has a Intel Core 2 Duo!

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by WallpaperPerson, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. WallpaperPerson
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    WallpaperPerson

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #1
    Hey guys, I have a question. On their website, did apple let you change the PowerPC G5 to a Intel Core 2 Duo? Why am I asking? Well, I own a iMac G5 that I got from a friend(after he used to have it) that has a Intel Core 2 Duo in it. He bought online when he first got it in 2005 or 2006. Did they have a option online to change the processor to a Intel?

    Thanks,
    WallpaperPerson
     
  2. dukebound85
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
  3. flopticalcube
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    He may have gotten a free (but silent) upgrade from Apple if he bought just when the new ones were announced. C2D iMacs came out in Sept 2006. Just to clarify, they could have shipped him the new one rather than the G5 he thought he was purchasing.
     
  4. MacMini2009
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    MacMini2009

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #4
    No, it's just a White iMac with an intel processor.
     
  5. WallpaperPerson
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    WallpaperPerson

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #5
    This one does not have Leopard or a black outline around the screen. It's a iMac G5. I am glad it does and want to know if it had a option online.

    It has Tiger.
     
  6. Techhie
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Techhie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Location:
    The hub of stupidity
  7. flopticalcube
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #7
    Intel iMacs were also white until Aug 2007. What does it say on the back and what does it say in About this Mac...
     
  8. dukebound85
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #8
    and? tiger was around with intel
     
  9. WallpaperPerson
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    WallpaperPerson

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #9
    I'm pretty sure its a iMac g5. But at first, when they lauched the Intel iMac, did it look like a iMac G5 and have Tiger?
     
  10. dukebound85
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #10
    yes
     
  11. flopticalcube
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #11
    Yes. Until Aug 2007 when they went aluminum/black.
     
  12. MacMini2009
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    MacMini2009

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #12
    The White iMac G5 and the White Intel iMac look the same but have different insides.
     
  13. thegoldenmackid
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #13
    They looked the same. Congrats on the epic fail.
     
  14. Sky Blue
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #14
    My iPhone 3G has a compass and can record video!
     
  15. chaos86
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    chaos86

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
  16. jaw04005
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #16
    Production of the white plastic Intel iMac lasted some 18 months after its introduction in January 2006. So, it’s not like it was a rare or short-lived form factor.
     
  17. 300D
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #17
    You have an Intel iMac. There is no physically possible way to change from a G5 to an Intel processor.
     
  18. RexTraverse
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #18
    Well... if you gutted the G5 iMac and then replaced it with the Intel iMac components, you might. Dimensionally, the Rev.C iSight iMac G5 and the Intel iMacs are pretty similar, although I don't think the rear ports or SuperDrive would line up.
     
  19. MacHamster68
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #19
    it is possible ,just look on ebay
    there are always a couple iMac G5
    with intel processor for sale :D

    i even found there the odd iMac G5 running snow leopard :D
     
  20. greygray
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    greygray

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    #20
    <Claps wildly and cheers until mother comes in.> :D
     

Share This Page