My iMac G5 is HERE!! :D

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by eXan, Nov 10, 2005.

  1. macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #1
    I returned home and it was sitting on my table! Yay! Beautiful enclosure, VERY nice screen and impressive performance! :D :cool: :D

    I've been waiting for it for 3 weeks and here it is! Ahh im so happy! :)

    The only complain is HD space, without my stuff (photos, music, videos) it is already 1/2 full :eek: (yes its 160 gig HD)

    At "Highest" CPU setting the fan noise is BARELY recognizable. Very quiet!!

    Awesome :D

    Oh its 2nd ren. 17 inch model :)
     
  2. ksz
    macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #2
    You know, I am torn between a quad-core G5 and an iMac 20"! There's a world of difference between them, but it just shows how much appeal that new iMac has. I hope Front Row runs smoothly; comments I have seen recently indicate sluggish performance.

    Congrats and enjoy!
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    jhero

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Not near an Apple Store
    #3
    Dude, lol, with all that money for the quad, why not both?!
     
  4. ksz
    macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #4
    Because there's no fun in having it all.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    doucy2

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #5
    nice pick
    have fun with the imac
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    of my hand will get me slapped.
    #6
    Can I try and let you know?
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    jacg

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I got mine too...

    Wasn't supposed to ship until 16 Nov!

    However, I am fairly sure I have a faulty fan. There is a definite buzz coming from the left hand side. The pitch rises and drops very gradually and it is very annoying. It will be a shame if it has to go back but I can't have this buzz right next to my ear. The selling point for me was the "whisper quietness" which had been confirmed over here by so many.

    Any suggestions?
     
  8. ksz
    macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #8
    I've tried it. You can trust me.
     
  9. macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #9
    Congrats on the purchase
     
  10. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #10
    Nice one. :)

    So, update your signature and then start importing CDs - feel the speed. :p
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #11
    Mine too, although I've an ext. 300Gb dedicated to Movie editing.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    jhero

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Not near an Apple Store
    #12
    Clearly, you want an iMac more :p
     
  13. macrumors regular

    dansgil

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #13
    Are you serious. Half the HD is used out of the box? What could be taking up so much space?
     
  14. macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #14
    No way... my ibook's 40 GB drive (really 37) had maybe 28 or so free out of the box. What could be on the imac that's taking up ~50 more gigs?
     
  15. macrumors 68040

    maya

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    somewhere between here and there.
    #15
    He is exaggerating. ;) :)

    There is a very minor speed difference 2.0GHz > 2.1GHz. :)
     
  16. ksz
    macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #16
    The emotional (technogeek side) desires a quad-core G5, the practical logical side says iMac. What's a dual-hemispherical brain to do? :)
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #17
    No, lol, not out of the box. My dad installed a ton of heavy-weight software on it ;)

    Motion, FCP5, DVD Studio Pro, LiveType just to name a few ;) :D :cool:

    Also, Doom 3 :) It runs OK on MEDIUM, 800x500, Shadows ON, everything else OFF. How to make it show FPS? I forgot the command :eek: And how to run timedemo?

    Cant wait to install my games on it (KOTOR, UT2004, Starcraft :D and so on)
    But I have to wait a couple of days. Dont ask why :)

    Pics later :D
     

Share This Page