My iMac is confused...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jamesW135, Jun 17, 2006.

  1. jamesW135 macrumors 6502a

    jamesW135

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #1
    My intel core duo iMac is a great machine, but it has quirks for one when i Select to show the amount of space in my HD on the desktop under the icon it says 80 Gigs however I have 211gigs of space left.


    Any Solutions? Thank-you
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    So at the bottom of Finder windows it says 211GB free, but under the Hard Disk icon, it says 80GB free? A screenshot may help. :)
     
  3. jamesW135 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jamesW135

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #3
    Here is a pic I circled the problem as you can see.

    [​IMG]


    Please Help.:confused:
     
  4. JimmyB248 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    #4
    Did you at any time have only 80GB free? Because I found that on my old PB when I chose to show the info until the HD, it was very slow in updating the space left, always accurate, but usually accurate to the space I had a few weeks previously to that. Doesn't mean anything.
     
  5. dcv macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    #5
    Actually from that pic it looks as though it says x.81GB (i.e. <something><decimal-point>81GB) free, not just 81GB free.
     
  6. jamesW135 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jamesW135

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #6
    Well Why would it do that? and the computer is new.
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    The numbers under the Hard Disk icon only update each time you log on. If you log off and then on again, there shouldn't be any discrepancy. :)
     
  8. reh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #8
    It's just abbreviating the text because it's too long to show. Standard operating procedure.
     
  9. jamesW135 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jamesW135

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #9
    Madjew, now after i log out it says 52 Gigs HMM!


    I don't get it...
     
  10. reh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #10
    It
    is
    abbreviating.
     
  11. jamesW135 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jamesW135

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #11

    Ok, GREAT! Can someone just tell me how to make it not abreviate?. Hmm I thought that was obvious.:mad:
     
  12. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #12
    I don't know if there's a way to stop the abbreviating, but if you reduce the font size there'll be less chance of needing abbreviation. :)
     
  13. Eluon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Location:
    Spring, Texas
    #13
    you can also just deselect the option to show contents/information on the desktop under each icon....if that bothers you by seeing just the......52gigs or whatever free.
     
  14. NickElls macrumors 6502

    NickElls

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    #14
    I just tested to see if that worked, but it doesn't.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. technicolor macrumors 68000

    technicolor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Location:
    ><><><><
    #15
    Finder>view>show view options

    and play with the text sizes until you dont see the ....... anymore
     
  16. technicolor macrumors 68000

    technicolor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Location:
    ><><><><
    #16
    that title is too long it will probably abbreviate no matter the text size

    you need to just look at the hard drive amount if that is what you are concerned about
     
  17. technicolor macrumors 68000

    technicolor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Location:
    ><><><><
    #17
    13pt font / 16 pt font
     

    Attached Files:

  18. kewpid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    #18
    If you set the text to the right instead of below, then it won't abbreviate.
     

Share This Page