My iMac is sooooo slow?!?!? help!

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by malbertron, May 1, 2003.

  1. malbertron macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    #1
    Ok well I finally got my parents to switch after many long hours. They went out and bought the new iMac 800mhz G4 40gb harddrive w/ 15" display. THe only problem is that the damn thing is incredibly slow. All the applications take forever to run. they only have the absolute minumum RAM in that thing so I was thinking of sticking some more in there. Is this the best way to get that puppy rolling? I can't handle anymore threats of them getting a PC. Those Wintel crapbox's cannot be in my familys lives so am I on the right track?
     
  2. awulf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Australia
    #2
    128MB of RAM makes any OS X computer run as slow as hell. I had 128MB of RAM in my PM 466, an upgrade to 384MB made it at least twice as fast.

    You could also try using optimization programs on the iMac

    try searching for these programs on Macupdate
     
  3. King Cobra macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #3
    www.18004memory.com

    You can purchase your RAM there for cheap and for quality.

    And, yes, do make sure you have plenty of RAM. Also, have 10.2.5 installed when finished.
     
  4. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #4
  5. springscansing macrumors 6502a

    springscansing

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    Or better yet, instead of downloading that junk, open up the terminal and type 'top' and hit return. Much more info, much less new program.
     
  6. applemacdude macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #6
    doesnt work
     
  7. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #7
    Care to elaborate?

    Put at least another 512 in there, if you can't afford more. I'm surprised x will even boot into 128, it should almost require 256. You'll definitely notice a major speed increase.

    pnw
     
  8. springscansing macrumors 6502a

    springscansing

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    ... ?

    What's it say?
     
  9. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #9
    junk eh?
    so now well programed software is junk, how nice.

    top is GOOD, if you know what to look for, which a new mac user DOESN'T.
    he needs ram that program will tell how much he really needs.
     
  10. springscansing macrumors 6502a

    springscansing

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #10
    They both give the exact same numbers, and they're clearly labeled in top.

    I am able to use top without any unix background. It's not like its something terribly difficult...

    Just type it in, hit return... ooo, I need more RAM.
     
  11. mmmdreg macrumors 65816

    mmmdreg

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #11
    I was under the impression that with OSX, no amount of RAM is enough (to an extent I guess..) Regardless of how much you have, it will use VM. Well perhaps on the better computers with their maxed ram, it would be alright, but I look at top and the pageouts* always exist and the VM totals more than 1 gig...


    edited: *pageouts (ex-pageins)
     
  12. springscansing macrumors 6502a

    springscansing

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #12
    Well jesus, I would hope pageins occur on your computer... you'd be in a lot of trouble if they didn't.

    It's if you have a LARGE number of PAGEOUTS that you have a problem. 2000 is nothing after several hours of usage. 1000000 is, and it means you need more RAM for what you're doing.

    I myself have a gig, and my computer runs very smoothly.
     
  13. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #13
    and maybe if a newbie knew what a pageout he would know, and if he didn't he wouldn't know what to do.
     
  14. Jeff Harrell macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    #14
    Just to mention an alternative, I have bought RAM from Other World Computing (eshop.macsales.com) on several occasions and have absolutely nothing bad to say about them. Right now they're offering 512 MB sticks for Power Mac G4 MDD systems (which is what I have) for $55.97, as opposed to 18004memory's best price of $65. Their memory comes with a lifetime advance-replace warranty; I'm not sure what the warranty on the other vendor's RAM is, but you'd be wise to check before ordering.

    I have no vested interest either way; I'm just offering my opinion.
     
  15. springscansing macrumors 6502a

    springscansing

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #15
    18004memory kicks ass... that's my experience.

    The thing to watch actually, is SHIPPING.

    For example, crucial is HIGH priced ram... but free shipping.

    18004 is dirt cheap ram.. but shipping is gonna be 15 bucks if you want it soon.
     
  16. springscansing macrumors 6502a

    springscansing

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    New York

Share This Page