My iMac stopped working. Please help me :)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by lisamel, Oct 28, 2009.

  1. macrumors regular

    lisamel

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #1
    Hi!

    Well, like the title says, my iMac has stopped working. I've been working on it all day and when I went to make some food, it must have died or something. When I got back after about 30 mins the screen was black and I couldnt turn it on. I tried to unplug it and check that the plug was working correctly (it was) and plugged the iMac back in. It still wont turn back on..

    Has this happened to anyone else before? Is there something I can do?

    The iMac was new in March 2008.

    Thank you for any help :)
     
  2. macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    What happens when you press the power button? Do the fans start spinning?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    lisamel

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #3
    No nothing happens :( Its like is has no power or something.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    #4
    Try plugging into a different outlet and see if it works.
     
  5. macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #5
    Could be a power supply issue, then. Take it in to the shop.

    What model do you have? Is it still under warranty?
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    lisamel

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #6
    I dont know which model it is, but I got it in march 2008 :) Its a 20".

    I am going to take it to a retailer today, hopefully they will be able to fix it quick!
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #7
    How did you go at the store? Do you have another Power cord to try?
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Binghamton, NY
  9. thread starter macrumors regular

    lisamel

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #9
    I took it to the Apple Retail store (we dont have an Apple Store in Norway) and they tried with a different plug and nothing happened. So they took it in and will have a look at it. They thought that it might be failed logic board. So I'm waiting to hear from them. I'm not under the Apple Warranty but we have a longer warranty type thing in Norway so it will be fixed for free :)
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Binghamton, NY
    #10
    Nice! When I had my Logic Board replaced in my iMac, it would have costed $900 or about 5,140 Kroner.
     

Share This Page