My IP's are messed up, please help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Coheebuzz, Dec 22, 2006.

1. Coheebuzz macrumors 6502

Hello, i was wondering if anyone can help me. I am a complete noob when it comes to networking stuff and am feeling a bit paranoid here.

I have a B-Focus 352+ wireless router that was crippled by the ISP to work only as a modem, thus allowing only 1 computer to be connected on the net. I have used the instructions found in this page Link to access the configuration page and re-anable all features on the router, except from the wireless part though, which requires a firmware flash.

I also have an Airport Express connected on the router so that i can connect my laptops wirelessly and i have my G5 wired on the modem.

Now, after messing with the settings of the modem and after an IP release from the ISP everything works fine, but the IP numbers i get are different than before. My ISP's router address (gateway address) was 10.160.0.1 before i did any changes and my G5's and AE's IP was normally 10.160.58.xx.

Also, the G5's and AE's IP numbers have become 192.168.xx.xx, which was previously my routers address. And i can access the configuration page of the router by typing that number in the address field without changing any DHCP settings as i did before. The ISP support insisted that i should be getting a 10.160.58.xx as my computer IP - of course i haven't told them that i messed with their modem. Furthermore, there is a light on the router that says 'Internet Link' which used to light up, but now it doesn't.

Is what happened normal? Or did i mess something up? As i said, everything works fine now and all of my computers are online at the same time, but i am a bit puzzled.

I hope i made it clear enough, if i didn't i'll be happy to explain the situation again.

Thanks.

2. mklos macrumors 68000

mklos

Here's what may of happened: