My Mac freezes when using command tab!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by lazydog, Jun 14, 2006.

  1. lazydog macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Cramlington, UK
    #1
    Hi

    Every now and again my Mac will freeze when I use the application switcher (with the command tab key stroke sequence). This happens perhaps once every 100 times or so. I was wondering if anyone else has this problem or know of any solutions or fixes. I use a 1.5GHz Powerbook by the way.

    Many thanks in advance for any help or advice

    b e n
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Does it stay frozen so you eventually have to pull the power? Do you have any theme changers or system hacks installed? Is it behaving erratically in any other way? :)
     
  3. lazydog thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Cramlington, UK
    #3
    Thanks for the reply. When it happens it freezes with the row of application icons on the screen. The mouse is ok though. I can move it around the screen but I can't do anything else. The only thing I can do is hold down the power button until it switches off.

    I don't have any theme changers installed. Don't think I have any system hacks installed. How would I know if I did?

    Thanks again for your help

    b e n
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    If you open up a new user account in System Preferences, does it still freeze when you COMMAND-TAB?

    It sounds like you don't have any system hacks installed. :)
     
  5. lazydog thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Cramlington, UK
    #5
    Thanks for your quick reply! I will try your suggestion and get back to you.

    Thanks again for your help

    b e n
     
  6. lazydog thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Cramlington, UK
    #6
    Thanks for the suggestion. I tried it and it doesn't seem to freeze in a new account.

    b e n
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    Okay, well I'm almost certain that application switching is governed by the Finder (could be wrong though) in which case removing the Finder preference file may help. To do this, search for a file named com.apple.finder.plist in your Preferences folder (on the original account), drag it to the Desktop and restart. :)
     
  8. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #8
    ^^ I think the cmd-tab function is a part of the Dock, actually...

    In which case you should move/rename/delete ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.dock.plist (and possibly /Library/Preferences/com.apple.dockfixup.plist). Just note that when that file is removed, you'll need to re-add your preferred applications and folders to the Dock.
     
  9. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9
    Good point, yeah, you're right. Also, remove any Dock modifiers and theme changers if applicable. :)
     

Share This Page