My Mac is stuffed...

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by edesignuk, Feb 17, 2004.

  1. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #1
    So I had a kernel panic 2 days ago, for no apparent reason (was running iTunes and that was it), when I rebooted it hung saying somthing like "panic: we are stopping here". So I zapped my PRAM, and all was well.
    Now, today, another kernel panic for no reason, I reboot, the same as last time, I zap my PRAM, nothin, still doing the exact same thing :( So I try to boot from my panther disks to do permissions etc, and it KP's doing that even!

    Sound like a hardware problem to you? [​IMG]

    *god bless applecare* ;)
     
  2. virividox macrumors 601

    virividox

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
    #2
    well u know all the common causes to kps and their remedies. let us know what happens.
     
  3. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #3
    Re: My Mac is stuffed...

    You probably already know this, but if your install discs are crashing, yep, it's hardware related.

    You've probably already done these, but two things you might try, just for the heck of it, before dealing with Applecare: unplug all your external stuff and try the install discs. If it works then, maybe you've got a bad device (I once had a bad keyboard cause all sorts of problems, and firewire drives can do the same, if you have any). The other "good" possibility is a bum internal hard disk. If you can get 10.3 running, you can do a SMART check of the drive using Disk Utility. Running the Apple Hardware Test CD that came with the computer might also tell you if that (or something more serious) is wrong, of course.
     
  4. Krizoitz macrumors 6502a

    Krizoitz

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Location:
    Wakayama, Japan
    #4
    Re: My Mac is stuffed...

    I have never heard the term "stuffed" used in this way. Here in the States it just means full, like after eating you say "I'm stuffed". I assume it means messed up or screwed up over on the other side of the Atlantic?
     
  5. edesignuk thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    heh, yeah, stuffed = f**ked, but a more mild way of saying it ;)

    The only devices I have hooked up are my keyboard and mouse :rolleyes:
     
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    Re: Re: My Mac is stuffed...

    And on the other side of the Pacific too :)
     
  7. Krizoitz macrumors 6502a

    Krizoitz

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Location:
    Wakayama, Japan
    #7
    have you added ram recently, i know that can do it sometimes
     
  8. Krizoitz macrumors 6502a

    Krizoitz

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Location:
    Wakayama, Japan
    #8
    Re: Re: Re: My Mac is stuffed...

    Despite the fact that the British Empire really doesn't exist anymore it STILL has such far reaching effects. :)
     
  9. kettle macrumors 65816

    kettle

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Location:
    England, Great Britain (Airstrip One)
    #9
    Re: Re: My Mac is stuffed...

    Look at it in this way, if you are a turkey, chicken, duck goose or a pig, and it's dinner time (see where I'm headed) well, If you are any of these and you have the feeling / sensation of being packed full of a sage, onion and breadcrumb type mix, then odds are you have just run out of time.

    Other than that, things stray into less tasteful areas.

    I'm sure you'd be welcome to start a discussion over at the"edesignuk forum"

    oh, and empire, sometimes when the rules of the game change empires are measured in other ways.
     
  10. edesignuk thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #10
    Nope, I've had the same RAM in there since I bought it 2 years ago.
     
  11. edesignuk thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #11
    Re: Re: Re: My Mac is stuffed...

    *nice plug there, thx ;) :D*
     
  12. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #12
    Could still be a Ram issue though. RAM can go bad...
     
  13. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #13
    just to be safe, if you have an airport card in there try taking that out too - my gf had a problem with her powerbook and the airport card, thing would crash everytime she tried to start it up....
    good luck with everything!!
     
  14. krimson macrumors 65816

    krimson

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Location:
    Democratic People's Republic of Kalifornia
    #14
    ot:
    thanks, i can use that on my co-worker.. :D
     
  15. montecristo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Location:
    Gotham
    #15
    I'm sure you know more about the hardware and software than I do, but what happens if you try to use "Target mode" on your computer? I don't know if this would help you isolate what hardware problem it might be. If you can get it to work in Target mode and use another CPU to extract your files, or perhaps fix your hard disk.

    I don't know if Target Mode would require use of the RAM on your computer or whether it relies completely on RAM from the host computer.

    Just a thought from a "macrumors member" to a "demi-god"
     
  16. Krizoitz macrumors 6502a

    Krizoitz

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Location:
    Wakayama, Japan
    #16
    don't feel too humble, in order to be a demi-god all you have to do is pay for it :)
     
  17. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #17
    This is a very good point. Try removing all but one RAM module if you have more than one; there's a huge discussion about bad RAM issues at MacInTouch, and they can cause problems exactly like this, yet be very difficult to diagnose. Sometimes the Harware Test CD will notice, sometimes it won't.
     
  18. virividox macrumors 601

    virividox

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
    #18
    he already said he hasnt changed ram in two years.

    and hes already trouble shooted the obvious solutions with out luck. maybe you need to do some voodoo on it.
     
  19. kettle macrumors 65816

    kettle

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Location:
    England, Great Britain (Airstrip One)
    #19
    TechTool Pro 2

    Run a copy of this and use its ram check checker jobbies. Not recommended for anything on the hard drive. Will have to run it through Classic but it should check the ram ok.

    just a thought.:)
     
  20. edesignuk thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #20
    thanks for the ideas people, but I think I'm just gonna let apple deal with it, that is why I paid for applecare after all. At work I deal with peoples IT problems all day, the last thing I want to do when I get home is start trying to sort out my own, especially when I can get someone else to do it for me ;) :rolleyes:
     
  21. edesignuk thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #21
    heh, yeah, I just paid $20, and boom, I'm a demi!


    ...bow before me young one! :p :D
     
  22. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #22
    have you tried new Panther CDs? I remember my PowerBook kp'ing like that because I used some incorrectly burned Panther CDs...
     
  23. edesignuk thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #23
    The anther CD's I am using are the ones I installed from, I am sure they are good.
     
  24. Phobophobia macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    #24
    And WHY exactly are your Panther CDs burned?
     
  25. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #25
    mm this was back in the summer? panther betas?

    are they scratched? even minor scratches on the install disks can cause KPs or the OS will refuse to install.
     

Share This Page