My MacBook bought in year 29 BC doesn't show it's serial number...

Discussion in 'macOS' started by juanm, Aug 27, 2006.

  1. juanm macrumors 65816

    juanm

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    #1
    My MacBook works flawlessly after a logic board replacement two weeks ago (the randow shutdown issue) but it doesn't show the serial number anymore (I noticed it when CoconutBattery said my mac was 24430 months old -that's more than 2035 years!-)

    I went to the "about my Mac" menu, and it actually doesn't recognize its own serial number. Instead, it shows

    Serial number : SystemSerialNumb.

    Is this serious? can it be corrected? I don't want to be refused further care because of this.

    Thanks in advance for your help.
     
  2. JRM PowerPod macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Location:
    Outback Australia
    #2

    This proves only one thing-

    Steve Jobs is not Jesus.....
     
  3. NATO macrumors 68000

    NATO

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #3

    .... Or is he? :p
     
  4. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #4
    Macllelujah!

    Steve's prayer:
    Our Steve
    Who art in Cupertino
    Hallowed be thy name
    Thy Mac will come
    Thy will be done
    On Earth as it is in Cupertino
    Give us this day our daily Mac
    And forgive those who get virueses
    As we forgive those who get viruses
    And lead us not to use Windows
    But deliver us from evil
    For thine is in California,
    and the Power(Mac),
    and the glory,
    for ever and ever.
    Apple.

    Can't belive I just thought of that :p

    EDIT: Yeah I reinstalled OS X when my MacBook came back from repair.
     
  5. pianoman macrumors 68000

    pianoman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #5
    i would suggest repairing permissions (which probably will not work, but it's worth a shot) and then reinstalling OSX after backing up your stuff to an external drive.
     
  6. juanm thread starter macrumors 65816

    juanm

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    #6
    And how is this done...?

    Is there a way to automate it (like a "Back everything up" button) or do I have to do it folder by folder and application by application?

    Thank you for praying for my serial number. Steve bless you.
     
  7. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7
    Utilities / Disk utility / Select Macintosh HD / Click repair permissions.


    Have you a .mac account ? if so , download backup! You can schedule it to autobackup 1 drive / docs to another whenever you want......
     
  8. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
  9. steve_hill4 macrumors 68000

    steve_hill4

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    NG9, England
    #9
    Before you do this, (or anything), I would suggest some screen grabs for our amusement.

    Post here and then await those who proclaim that they were photoshopped.
     
  10. Cloud9 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Location:
    between flesh and thought
    #10
    Just Sick.
     
  11. NicP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    #11
    Mine also does the same

    Serial Number: SystemSerialNumb

    It's a week 25 macbook (i think)

    Any solution yet?

    edit: has also had the logic board changed
     
  12. m1ss1ontomars macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    #12
    apparently, on some macs with the logic board replaced the serial number no longer shows up from Mac OS X. there was an apple KB article on it, but I can't find it right now. basically, if you still want to find out your S/N you have to look for where it's printed on your mac.
     
  13. rmarasa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #13
    This is a normal result of having the logic board changed.
     

Share This Page