My MacBook Pro does not want to play with a WAP54A

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sycho, Dec 15, 2006.

  1. sycho macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #1
    So I purchased a Linksys 802.11a Access Point the other day, but my Core 2 Duo MacBook Pro will not connect to it when the Access Point has WEP enabled. In fact, the Access Point does not show up most of the time when WEP is enabled. When WEP is disabled, I can connect just fine, but the lack of any protection is not an idea that I like.

    Does anyone have any ideas on some thing I should try? I can connect to the 802.11a at my college just fine.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Try putting a dollar sign ($) in front of your passphrase. :)
     
  3. sycho thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #3
    Hmmm, I don't quite understand.:confused:

    I am trying to use "dafca169aa" as the key, I should put a $ infront of that on the MacBook?

    EDIT: Yah, the access point is not showing up when WEP is enabled.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Sorry mate. Okay, read through this support article to see where I'm coming from and hopefully something in there might help. :)
     
  5. sycho thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #5
    Well, no dice, I think I will just try to return the access point, it seems like a pecie of crap...
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Okay, well try some of the techniques outlined in this thread before giving up on it. :)
     
  7. sycho thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #7
    OK, thanks, I'll give it a try after my math exam tomorrow. :)
     
  8. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #8
    I would just setup MAC-filtering and use that.
     
  9. sycho thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #9
    It seems that it only supports allow or deny of a specific MAC address... Basically, I can't just tell it to allow mine and nothing else, I think I will return it.
     

Share This Page