My Macbook won't connect to certain Web sites

Discussion in 'Mac Applications and Mac App Store' started by macnjeez, Apr 15, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Location:
    America
    #1
    Hi. I don't think I've got anything blocked as far as a firewall goes. I've tried connecting to squarespace.com and ehow.com and it won't connect. Other sites work fine. I tried my neighbor's W-LAN and I couldn't connect either but he connected to squarespace on his macbook pro, so I think it's something with my computer and not my apartment's W-LAN connection.

    SPECS
    Mac OSX 10.5.8
    Intel Core 2 Duo, 2.4 Ghz.
    13" aluminum body, bought about a year ago
    Tried both Safari and Firefox browsers

    Any ideas as to what my problem is and how to fix it?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Again as usual, more information is needed.

    What Mac exactly and what exact Mac OS X and browser version do you use?

    Have you tried accessing these pages via LAN, as you presumedly use W-LAN?

    Have you checked your settings for Network and Firewall?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Location:
    America
    #3
    Re

    It's running OSX. Bought it about a year ago, with the aluminum body. 13" screen with Intel Core 2 Duo, 2.4 Ghz.

    I set the firewall to allow all incoming connections and don't really know what I'm looking for on network settings.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Location:
    America
    #4
    sorry

    It's Mac OSX 10.5.8
     
  5. Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    You can edit your posts via the [​IMG] button on the bottom right of your posts.

    Also, which browser do you use and can you take a screen shot of your network settings?
    Btw, what kind of connection do you use? W-LAN or LAN?+

    To get to your network settings, go to System Preferences > Network > AirPort / Ethernet (depends on which you use)> Advanced.

    To make screen shots, either use CMD+SHIFT+3/4 (+SPACE) or Applications / Utilities / Grab.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Location:
    America
    #6
    ???

    Do you need a shot of one of the Advanced tabs? The Network settings just says Location is set to Automatic, and that Airport is connected and has an IP.
     

Share This Page