My MBP eats my ram

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hdsalinas, Jan 25, 2007.

  1. hdsalinas macrumors 6502

    hdsalinas

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    San Pedro Sula, Honduras
    #1
    Hi I have had my MBP C2D with 1 gb of ram for a month now and I am getting buyers remorse. It just doesn't seem as fast as I thought it would be. CS2 applications are very slow and although PS CS3 beta runs better is not lightning fast.

    I was just using bridge and photoshop CS3 (with no other app running) and I was still getting a bunch of beachballs. I checked my RAM usage and noticed that I only had 22MB of rams left, no wonder it was slow. I had photoshop running but with no documents opened.

    I need to get more ram, but is this Ram comsumption normal? Is there something wrong with my system? I cant see how people run their macs with just 512MB of ram.


    By the way, whats Wired, Active, Incative memory? Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    Adobe CS2 under Rosetta absolutely needs 1.5 to 2 Gb of RAM to perform reasonably.

    Intel/Rosetta adds roughly 512 Mb to the equivalent requirements on a PowerPC G5 machine.

    THanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  3. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #3
    Note that you actually have about 350 MB of free RAM at the time of that snapshot (inactive + free). But yes, your page outs (and your description of beachballs) shows that you are regularly maxing out the RAM. You'll be much happier if you give your system more RAM to snack on.
     
  4. bep207 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #4
    vm size?

    Did you adjust your VM allocation?
    If so why?
    How much is normal?
    Thanks
     
  5. hdsalinas thread starter macrumors 6502

    hdsalinas

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    San Pedro Sula, Honduras
    #5
    About VM size, no I haven't touch it.

    BTW, how much ram does the OS use.
     
  6. ianhhh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    #6
    vm.. on a 2gb g4book runnin pshop cs + capture one + safari + mail , th vm is high at almost 12gb... is this how it should b an can i control it ? i know its virtual memory, i imagine is sum sort of memory overspill when the ram is full??!! can someone explain pls
     
  7. ianhhh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    #7
    think at least 256mb an "they" recommend 512mb
     

Share This Page