my monitor keeps going black

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by boynigel, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #1
    since january, my monitor will randomly go black. i have a desktop ppc G4 from 2003. i tried replacing the cable but that didn't do the trick. i thought that perhaps it was the video card, but a few days ago when it went black i pulled the power cable out of the monitor and plugged it back in and it worked. but then when it happened tonight, it didn't work so i don't know what to think. i put in a new system drive tonight and all was well until i changed the monitor resolution. as soon as i selected the optimum setting, the screen went black. sometimes if i shut down for a few minutes and reboot, it will work.
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #2
    It is most probably the back light on your monitor that is failing. Try another monitor.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #3
    my only option for trying another monitor is buying one. problem w/that is i could go a week w/out a blackout. a little concerned about buying a monitor i possibly don't need. having said that, none of the buttons on the monitor are responding, other than the power button. all i get is a "floating" screen saver message that reads, "not the optimum monitor setting. select 1280 X 1024". not sure if those are the exact numbers, but i do know that what it is telling me to select has already been selected.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #4
    no one? really? bump.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    adcx64

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Cudi Zone
    #5
    Sounds like a video card issue then. Try removing the card and re-seat it again.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #6
    i've done that. this has been going on since january. you're probably right- time for a new video card. will this be a hard item to find given that the computer is 8 years old at this point?
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    cocacolakid

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #7
    It shouldn't be hard to get a replacement. What exact Mac model are you using and what model video card, and how much memory is on the video card? (check in your system profiler for the video card specs)
     
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #8
    VIDEO SPECS ARE:

    ATI Radeon 9000 Pro:

    Chipset Model: ATY,RV250
    Type: Display
    Bus: AGP
    Slot: SLOT-1
    VRAM (Total): 64 MB
    Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
    Device ID: 0x4966
    Revision ID: 0x0001
    ROM Revision: 113-99702-131
    Displays:
    SyncMaster:
    Resolution: 1280 x 1024 @ 75 Hz
    Depth: 32-bit Color
    Core Image: Not Supported
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Quartz Extreme: Supported
    Rotation: Supported
    Display:
    Status: No display connected

    COMPUTER SPECS ARE:


    Hardware Overview:

    Machine Name: Power Mac G4
    Machine Model: PowerMac3,6
    CPU Type: PowerPC G4 (3.3)
    Number Of CPUs: 1
    CPU Speed: 1.25 GHz
    L2 Cache (per CPU): 256 KB
    L3 Cache (per CPU): 1 MB
    Memory: 1 GB
    Bus Speed: 167 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: 4.4.8f2
    Serial Number: XXX
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #9
    I have that same card as spare and the same machine as well... :D

    Send me PM if you want one...

    They are about 30 bucks on ebay.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    cocacolakid

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #10
    Nameci can help you out, or you can check out eBay.

    Are you in the U.S.?
     
  11. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #11
    i'll let you know. right now i've got yet another problem where all 3 (safari, firefox, camino) of my browsers crash within seconds of loading a page. all this with a brand new empty hard drive. i posted a seperate post for this problem but no responses yet. this computer may be destined for the trash.
     

Share This Page