My one and only Tiger bug...

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Ted Witcher, Jun 2, 2005.

  1. Ted Witcher macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    #1
    For some reason my computer no longer goes to sleep when left idle, though I have it set to do so. Anyone else have this glitch?
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    Are you using Dasher or Adium? Both of these seem to cause sleep issues. The Adium issue is separate, but the Dasher issue seems to be that the widget activity is enough to keep the computer awake, which is really annoying, 'cause Dasher is a great idea.
     
  3. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #3
    Don't know about Dasher or Adium, but do you have iPhoto open? I've found that my iBook won't sleep when iPhoto'05 is open. I'm using OS X 10.4.1.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    I'm pretty sure Panther used to go to sleep even if you were playing a song through iTunes but Tiger doesn't now. Could this be it?
     
  5. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #5
    ^^That's not true. My PB wouldn't go to sleep if iTunes was the only app turned on.

    Another issue may be if you are on the internet. I find that when I sign onto the internet (I live at a Uni residence), my PB stays on because its constantly getting an internet connection. But that's the way it should be, IMO.
     
  6. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #6
    heh no wonder.
     
  7. Ted Witcher thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    #7
    No Dasher or Adium. No iPhoto or iTunes. Nothing different from when this used to work under Panther. A minor bug or conflict, but still irritating. Thanks for the help.
     
  8. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    Try this:
    repair permissions
    shut down
    restart in open firmware and reset pram/nvram
    restart in single user mode and fsck or restart off the Tiger disk and repair disk

    I am starting to suspect that some of the issues I had early on with Tiger might have had to do with my pram/nvram becoming slightly corrupted. Also, I surprisingly found two temp files that had incorrect file sizes in the journal with fsck. I don't know what they were related to, but I guess this sort of thing could cause strangeness.
     

Share This Page