My passport for Mac: DOESNT work on pc's?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bruleke, Jun 26, 2009.

  1. macrumors 6502

    bruleke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #1
    I bought myself a "my passport for mac 320gb".
    Holy Hell, if I am buying it, its because I want to exchange files. But it doesnt work on pc's!

    I read in some websites that it really doesnt work on pc's.

    So, I can just exchange files between mac computers but not windows computers?
    Or there is a solution?

    Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #2
    Do a forum search on "sharing harddrives" or "sharing files", there a lot of suggestions regarding it. Basically the filesystem on OSX is not readable by Windows. There are ways to share.
     
  3. macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #3
    Reformat the drive

    MR Guide: File Systems

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502

    bruleke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #4
    Look, I have already formated my passport for mac using HFS+, NTFS and FAT32 but when I connect it on a Windows Vista notebook, it detects the drive, but the icon doesnt appear. Its like: "There IS a hard drive here... but I will not show you, da da da daaa!"

    understand?

    I looked up many threads here, but no success.

    I saw in another forum that I should use a cable that has 2 USB ends, because Windows requires more power to make the hard drive to work. I thought: "Thats insane... "

    Its getting hard to make this piece of **** work :mad:
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #5
    You can't format a hard drive as all three of those filesystems unless you partitioned the hard drive. And even if you did that, what you store in the partition that is formated as HFS+ will still not be visible to the Windows computer.

    I'm not sure if a hard drive that big can be formated as FAT32, but that is the file system that you want to format the drive as to be able to read and write from both Mac OS X and Windows.

    The "for Mac" part of the brand is only for marketing purposes really. Any hard drive will work, you have the same Passport as the non-for-Mac version, but its just formatted with HFS+ out of the box.

     
  6. macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #6
    No need to get mad at me... your original post said nothing about reformatting the drive.

    If you aren't looking for suggestions, then don't post.

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    bruleke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #7
    Couldnt have a better answer, thanks!

    But, tell me: So, I CANT read it on Windows? Or, all I need to do is to create a new partition in FAT32 (using the total size of it)?Because I have already formated in fat32, but didnt create a partition.

    Sorry, as my macrumor identity says: newbie.

    Thanks anyway!
    e
     
  8. macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #8
    If you format it, there has to be atleast one partition already.

    On your Vista computer, go Right Click on My Computer>Manage> (Left Pane) Open the Storage area>Click on Disk Management.

    Format your Passport as NTFS.

    While it is doing that, go on your Mac.

    Download This And "Install"

    Then after your format is done, connect your hard drive to your Mac, and transfer your files. Or if you're transferring from Windows to Mac, after your format is done, transfer your files.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502

    bruleke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #9
    Hein?
    Sorry, I never meant to cause you trouble. Oh, I never meant to do you harm!


     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #10
    There really is no need to get nasty with the others that are trying to help you. MacDawg's post was very informative. It's as simple as this; format it in FAT32 if you wish to be able to write files in both Windows and OS X. You should probably format it in Disk Utility as "MSDOS (FAT)", otherwise you'll be stuck with a partition size limit of 32GB in Windows.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502

    bruleke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #11
    THATs the problem: Windows vista makes that noise (that USB drive is connected) but DOESNT show anything in MY COMPUTER or MANAGE PANEL... nothing!

    :mad:

    I tried this in 4 vista computers: all of them do the same
    :(

    so sad...


     
  12. macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #12
    It doesn't show up in Disk Management but it shows up in Disk Utility (Mac)?
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 6502

    bruleke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #13
    Sorry Macdawg, I didnt know I was that stupid with you! Sorry :)

    BTW, THIS IS what I do: format in FAT in disk utility, but when I connect in ANY windows vista computer, it makes that USB CONNECTED DEVICE SOUND, but doesnt appear in MY COMPUTER or DEVICES MANAGER
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502

    bruleke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #14
    PERFECT!
    You got it!

    If you google it: "my passport for mac windows vista" you will see my problem.

    But... no answer, wherever site you go... no answer
    =/
     
  15. macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #15
    Are you on a Windows Desktop or laptop?

    And if desktop, are you comfortable opening your hard drive enclosure and your computer?

    EDIT: Nevermind-


    This CNet article says that the OS's compatible are Windows XP, OS X, and Windows Vista, so it should work fine. I have no idea why it is not.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 6502

    bruleke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #16
    I have 2 laptops:
    macbook Pro
    Dell Laptop Windows Vista basic

    So, you really understood my problem?
    That sucks man... I bought it to share movies and songs with friends at office, but doesnt work on Vista.
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    getz76

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Hell, AL
    #17
    I would bet a dollar that you are not delivering enough power to the drive. Are you using a hub or plugging directly into one of the USB ports on the computer?
     
  18. thread starter macrumors 6502

    bruleke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #18
    All the users in others forums says that!
    I bet the same

    BTW, I use directly to the usb port.

    They say I have to use those freaking cables that has 2 USB ends to connect through 2 usb ports. So I could have enough power.

    But... this sound so stupid...

    "There goes that stupid man who need a freak usb cable to use his hard drive... tsc tsc... God bless him"

    hahaha
     
  19. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    London, England
    #19
    With regards to the 2 USB cables question, some COMPUTERS cannot provide enough power to USB hard drives through one cable. This is not specifically a Windows problem. I had the same issue a couple of years back with a Formac external drive. It looks like your Mac provides enough power which is why it's okay on the Mac but not on the PC.

    You need to use a cable with two ends: one for power, one for data. If the drive didn't come with that, you might need to buy one from elsewhere. Alternatively, if the drive has a separate AC power port you can supply power to it through that.
     
  20. thread starter macrumors 6502

    bruleke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #20
    This is the best answer. At least I can understand the problem and have a solution.
    But... its weird...
    Anyway, is there any Hard Drive compatible with MAC and PC? (using ONE usb cable? and which has firewire 800 port also)

    man, I want to personally thank you for that help.:)
     
  21. macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #21
    Actually, there are a lot.

    I'd be cheaper for you to buy a USB cable with split ends though.
     
  22. thread starter macrumors 6502

    bruleke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #22
    How do I look for it on ebay?I tried "split USB" but nothing

    Do you think I will have a problem when snow leopard comes? It will read the hard drive anyway, right?
     
  23. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #23
    If the computer is not suplying enough power you'll know because the drive will make repeated clicking noises every few seconds. Also you will not feel the slight vibration of the disk spinning. These are two easy ways to confirm it's power and not configuration.

    I have the WD Passport Studio which has USB2 and FW800 and on my old PBG4 it could not deliver enough power to the drive on USB and it would click once every 1-2 seconds forever. That's why I bought the FW800 drive because I connect it on FW and have no power problems.

    Power really should not be an issue on most computers, I think my PBG4 was in the minority that it could not power the drive via USB. Desktop computers especially they should have no difficulties powering the drive via USB. Are all the computers you connect laptops?

    Ruahrc
     
  24. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #24
    Doesn't your drive have Firewire 800?

    If your PC had it, I'd use that instead of USB.

    Just make sure your reformat the drive as FAT32 in Disk Utility, and you should be fine. Otherwise, it's an issue with Windows.
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    getz76

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Hell, AL
    #25
    Not always. I had one drive that would make absolutely no sound at all. The USB was enough to power the chipset on the case drive, but not enough to do anything to the drive itself.

    I suggest the OP tries another Windows box, or better yet try the same Mac in BootCamp.
     

Share This Page