My recent Apple Hardware ( iBook, Pbook, iPod) experience

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Alpinism, Oct 28, 2005.

1. Alpinism macrumors regular

I do not fit the today stereotypical Apple consumer (not young & hip anymore). However my first computer (~ 10 yrs old) was the Apple II +. Today I work in the IT field and use Windows 24/7.

I am technological savvy, up to date with most current technology. Having said that, I just first got my first real HD based MP3 player, a black 60 gig Ipod Video few weeks ago. Before, I own a 64 mb Nike psa mp3 player which was a real nightmare to use (no thanks to Win XP).

Yes, I been wanting an Ipod ever since they released the first generation years back. However back then, I found it to be overpriced considering the features (monochrome screen, no photo ...etc) + sound quality to be not worth the price. Not until the explosion of pod casting on itunes and video podcasting that I justified the purchase of the new Ipod Video.

Now I have all my pod casting(endurance radio rules!), video podcasts, my digital photos, my homemade videos, all my music in the palm of my hand (yes, in that priority). The integration of Itunes and pod casting is simply a blissful experience, one click and it updates all my podcasts subscrption. The sound quality is also much better than the 3rd gen iPod that I ultimately returned to Circuit City.

For anybody out there still deciding on an mp3 player, get the video ipod. It is very sleek, beautiful screen with awesome user interface and not to mention the high resell value. The ipod also has the most after market accessories out there vs other mp3 players.

However, I do wish that the ipod allows us to input "To Do List", Contact List and the calendar feature on the go. I know I can get a PDA, but I really do not need to have the bulk of a cell phone, PDA and ipod on my khaki.