My safari has lost it's audio...

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Salamander, Jul 12, 2006.

  1. Salamander macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    #1
    I woke up my computer one day to suddenly discover that safari has no sound whatsoever. Itunes and all other pps play sound, but nothing from safari. I have restarted, and that didn't fix it.


    What's wrong?

    EDIT
    2ghz macbook pro btw.
     
  2. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    I had the same problem once, but I can't remember for sure how it was resolved.

    Try this...

    Go to Applications > Utilities > Audio MIDI Setup, and lower the 'Audio Output' settings to 44100.0 Hz (if it isn't already). ...But write down the settings you had before you change anything... just in case I am wrong.

    I'm going off of memory because this happened on my iMac, and looking on my MacBook, I don't have any Audio Out settings.
     
  3. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #3
    No sound from Safari? I'd consider that a blessing!
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4

    Sounds good. The quick and cheap fix is to open then close Garageband though. That's assuming your problem is core audio related. :)
     
  5. Salamander thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    #5
    Wow, I opened and closed garageband and now the audio is back! That's nuts. Thanks!!
     
  6. Yuvi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    #6
    Heh, I just had just about this same issue, except I first noticed it when playing some flash files I had saved to my HD in a stand-alone flash player app; QuickTime movies played fine, but nothing flash related would play audio anywhere. Virtual PC also couldn't output sound. I went into Audio MIDI Setup and found the format to be 96 KHz. This option is actually one of my pet peeves about OS X - it's global, yet applications can change it without notice, and 96 KHz seems to have all sorts of problems, as witnessed here (another is that my amp refuses to upmix digital 96 KHz audio, which includes extracting LFE for my subwoofer. And the setting is not at all in an obvious place - you'd think that "Audio MIDI Setup" would only do MIDI, and that the audio devices options would be in either system preferences or the app would be renamed to something "Audio and MIDI Setup"....
     
  7. d wade macrumors 65816

    d wade

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    #7
    yup. thats how i fixed mine, havent had the problem since
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    Excellent. :)

    FWIW, opening Garageband resets the Audio MIDI settings to their defaults which is why either method (through Garageband or directly through the Audio MIDI app) works. :cool:
     
  9. comictimes macrumors 6502a

    comictimes

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Location:
    Berkeley, California
    #9
    Hate to bring a thread back from the dead, but my audio was dead in random apps (flash videos in firefox, realplayer, Warcraft III), and trying this worked! thank you very much EricNau

    Oh yea, the garageband fix may have worked, but I deleted garageband (freed up several gb of hd space, and I generally wouldn't have used it...). So thank you!
     
  10. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #10
    You're welcome. I'm glad my round-about, not-so-efficient method came in handy for someone. :D
     

Share This Page