My TRACKPAD is NON-Responsive!!!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MattyMac, Mar 7, 2007.

  1. MattyMac macrumors 68000

    MattyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/NYC
    #1
    The trackpad on my 12in PB G4 suddently stopped working. I just wiped it down with an anti-static cleaning wipe and now I realize its not working. Hopefully I just turned something off by accident while wiping the keyboard and trackpad down. Can anyone help or at least tell me where to look? Good thing I have my wirless mouse right now.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
  3. MattyMac thread starter macrumors 68000

    MattyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/NYC
    #3
    haha...why didn't I think of that. I'll be back after the restart.
     
  4. MattyMac thread starter macrumors 68000

    MattyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/NYC
    #4
    Thanks EricNau...worked Great. Now to figure out why I didn't think of that:rolleyes:

    ...its been a long day.
     
  5. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
  6. MattyMac thread starter macrumors 68000

    MattyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/NYC
    #7
    Yeah man!
     
  7. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #8
    Wow how relieving must that feel. I gasped when I first read this thread. :eek:
     
  8. The Stig macrumors 6502a

    The Stig

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    On the track
    #9
    Mine does that if it gets a static shock. Next time try just closing the MB and waiting until it goes to sleep and opening it.

    The Stig
     
  9. MattyMac thread starter macrumors 68000

    MattyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/NYC
    #10
    Hmm maybe it did get a static shock. I don't know how though...I did use non-static wipes??? Oh well, at least the problem is solved. I do have applecare, but it would be a hassle if I had to get it fixed.
     
  10. MattyMac thread starter macrumors 68000

    MattyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/NYC
    #11
    UPDATE:

    The problem is still persisting. It is happening every so often and I need to restart my computer each time.

    Now I really think this is a problem.
     
  11. nazmac21 macrumors 6502a

    nazmac21

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    Digital World
    #12
    I heard this was a problem with the PowerBook G4 and iBook G4 (after some time). Call Apple if you have warranty left. I had the same problem with my iBook G4 but with the keyboard not the trackpad.
     
  12. MattyMac thread starter macrumors 68000

    MattyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/NYC
    #13
    Wow, I never heard this. I have applecare until Sept. 2008 so I will should be covered. I don't think I can live without my mac if it goes in for service:eek:
     
  13. MattyMac thread starter macrumors 68000

    MattyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/NYC
    #14
    Another Update

    I just dropped my mac off at the apple store today for this problem. It is very repetetive so they need to send it out to get fixed. I'm using a PC now for hopefully only a short while :(
     
  14. MattyMac thread starter macrumors 68000

    MattyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/NYC
    #15
    Final Update

    Alright I promise, last post.

    After dropping off my mac to an apple store on Saturday, it arrived at my doorstep 9am this morning (Wednesday). Now that is service...I commend you :apple: .

    Everything is fixed and fine. I think they replaced the top of the case and pad, the logic board, and some component cable. Applecare is Grrrrrreaaaaaaaaaaat!
     
  15. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #16
    You dropped it off at an Apple store and they mailed it back? I didn't know they would do that.
     
  16. MattyMac thread starter macrumors 68000

    MattyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/NYC
    #17
    Well, they didn't fix it at the store. They recommended that they send it out to the apple repair center since they didn't have the parts on hand and for the fact that it may be a more technical issue than they are used to. Then they gave me the option to have it sent back to the store for me to pick up or to have apple mail it directly to my home.
     
  17. MattyMac thread starter macrumors 68000

    MattyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/NYC
    #18
    Bummmer...the same problem just happened again. I just called applecare and they set up a mail in repair. Why is this persistant. Last time they replaced the logic board, superdrive, and entire top case to fix it...I wonder if they will do the same this time.
     
  18. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #19
    If it does, ask for a replacement. Some people have had Powerbooks replaced with Macbook Pros!
     
  19. MattyMac thread starter macrumors 68000

    MattyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/NYC
    #20
    Really...wow?!?! I've alredy setup the mail in repair, so if it happens a third time after that, maybe I can ask or a replacement. Although I would miss the size of my 12" pb.
     

Share This Page