My Wii's broke....

Discussion in 'Games' started by gkarris, Dec 11, 2006.

  1. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #1
    I hooked it up on launch day and it connected fine to my wireless. It downloaded the version 2.0u of the OS, now, no matter what I do, I cannot reconnect to my wireless.

    I exchanged a couple of e-mails with Nintendo, and they are saying that there's something wrong with my wireless. How can that be? It connected fine the first time to download the newer OS...

    Any other experiences or ideas? I've gotten to play GC games, at least...

    Thanks!
     
  2. aidanpendragon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #2
    Try changing wireless channel to 1 or 11 on the router? I had intermittent contact and this seemed to improve it. Nintendo also says "presence of many signals/connections may hurt your connection strength." If you live in an apt. building, I don't see any way around this, but it's a factor to consider.

    I assume the system isn't totally bricked? You can still play Wii (not just GC) games? Just the wireless that's out? Have heard of updates killing the console altogether, but not just the wireless.
     
  3. gkarris thread starter macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #3
    Can play disc games

    I can only play disc games, I can't download any of the classic stuff obviously. I tried the channel thing already.

    I don't have Wii games, so been catching up on playing my GC games on it. Can't wait for the 480p cable though...
     
  4. aidanpendragon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #4
    Location=U.S., you should have a copy of Wii Sports, right?
     
  5. gkarris thread starter macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #5
    Oh, yeah, that plays fine of course - not enough room to move around though with the couch and smaller room...
     
  6. aidanpendragon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #6
    Hunh. Getting specific error codes, or it just doesn't connect? Can you put the console as close as possible (line-of-sight?) to your router, if not already? What's Nintendo got to say?
     
  7. gkarris thread starter macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #7
    Thanks.

    I'm getting assorted error codes (different each time) and it's only 8 ft. from the router...

    Nintendo gave me a list to try via e-mail but nothing worked...
     
  8. aidanpendragon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #8
    Open question to anyone: is there a list of Wii error codes & their meanings compiled on the web? (probably).

    I was getting a few error codes along with "server busy, couldn't connect" error messages when I tried connecting to the shop channel. Then changed router channel to 1/11 and it's been working better. But, the error codes I was getting were not the same as the "Wii got bricked" codes others reported.

    Is it a WEP vs. WPA encryption issue? Tried both?
     
  9. combatcolin macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
  10. ExoticFish macrumors 6502a

    ExoticFish

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Location:
    The inner depths of madness, aka Kent, OH
    #10
    this is a problem that has popped up with the latest firmware update. luckily my Wii updated without a problem.
     
  11. paddy macrumors 6502a

    paddy

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Location:
    TN
    #11
    One quick q., can the wii connect to a modem thats connecting via PPoE?
     
  12. lorductape macrumors 6502

    lorductape

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Location:
    t3h usa
    #12
    wow and i thought the wii was going to be great
     
  13. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #13
    Absolutely not to make light of your situation, but:

    I've been waiting for someone to say this for so long.
     
  14. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #14
    Yes. The NWC Tech Support Page. :p

    I know some people had their Wii's refuse to go online after a firmware update. Didn't happen to anyone I know. If that's the case then Nintendo should replace it. Since this happened after you updated I think that may be it.
     
  15. combatcolin macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #15
    Oh well, thought someone would get that joke...even though it was a bit unpleasent.
     

Share This Page