MySQL backup

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Dagless, Jun 11, 2006.

  1. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #1
    well, my webhosting have well and truly farted in my coffee.
    I've been using them for 2 years, I've had a database with them too. Only I could never see it under the phpmyadmin page. I didn't complain. everything worked I just couldn't see it. I used PhpBB as a backup-er for a while but I think it only backs up PhpBB data, even though it says "full backup" as an option.

    Basically. I'm after a little php application/page/site whatever to do what my hosting can't provide me with - a fully fledged database backup and restorer. does such thing exist?
     
  2. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #2
    In the future, i'd suggest you ask google any mysql questions.

    http://www.desilva.biz/mysql/mysqlbak.html
    If you use this, make a cron job and setup up to backup every night.

    http://www.submarinefund.com/backup_mysql/

    If you are really serious, I'd suggest putting 2 mysql servers in a master/slave relationships then your will have two copies of you database and double your read speed. However, your write speed will drop because it will have to propagate over servers. There is always mysql cluster, but I've read it only scales well if the db is smaller than the ram size.
     
  3. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #3
    The same thing just happened to me. My ISP was hosting a MediaWiki for me, but when they upgraded MySQL recently, it totally destroyed my wiki. As in, gone, unrecoverable. They claim to have daily backups going back a month, but for some unknown reason, they can't use those to get my data back. Any thoughts there?
     
  4. Dagless thread starter macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #4
    I did, I'm not very good with this SQL, PHP etc. malarky. I mean I really know next to nothing on the subject.

    How do I do this? http://www.submarinefund.com/backup_mysql/
    I mean what application do I save that too? I have no idea about Cron stuff either :eek:
     
  5. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #5
    oh gotcha... can you access myphpadmin and navigate it ok?

    just login, select export->highlight the database(s) then click "go" (it maybe "ok").
    (my sure mysql is selected). it will dump an export of your database. if you ever lose your database, you can use the import function and get everything back.
     
  6. DavidLeblond macrumors 68020

    DavidLeblond

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #6
    He said he can't see his database in phpmyadmin. So I doubt the dump will help him. ;)

    raggedjimmi: Raise hell to your host, if they have phpmyadmin installed you should be able to access your database from there. If either a) they don't have phpmyadmin or b) they can't figure out what is wrong then tell them you're taking your business elsewhere, pack your code up and run.
     
  7. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #7
    c) he doesn't know how to use it.
     
  8. Dagless thread starter macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #8
    PhpMyAdmin is there definitely. My girlfriend uses the same hosting company and I've seen data in there a few times. tables and whatnot.

    Well I know WHY my database went byebye. Turns out another guy registered with my host and somehow got MY database! They have ballsed up so much here. For their sake they better have a backup seeing it was their problem.

    Is there absolutely no way to see my database as a single file in an FTP application? For really quick and easy backing up like? just incase this happens again.
     
  9. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #9
    the method i stated above is the easiest way for you, once you get your database back. you can do it from the command line, but that is over your head apparently.
     

Share This Page