Myst Masterpiece Edition runs slowly

Discussion in 'Games' started by not28, Dec 7, 2005.

1. not28 macrumors member

Hi, I'm new to Classic gaming and Macs in general. I just bought a brand-new 1.42ghz iBook in October, and my Myst 10th anniversary collection just arrived today. After installing and trying to play Myst in classic mode, I've noticed a lot of overall sluggishness in the game, from screen transitions to videos. I've tried running the game under different resolutions, and even copied all of the video files from the DVD to the hard drive, but I'm still getting this problem. Are there any settings or drivers I can tweak in Classic to help me get this game to run smoother? It's more than ten years old and it shouldn't be doing this on a brand new machine. Thanks for your help.

2. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

Classic mode takes a lot of resources. You should have a full load of RAM in your computer to lessen the pain. Running with 256 MB or 512 MB, even regular tasks will be somewhat slow, let alone games or graphics applications.

3. not28 thread starter macrumors member

Okay, would it be dramatically better if I doubled my ram to 1gb? I planned on doing that anyway but this will give me more of an incentive.

4. not28 thread starter macrumors member

So I tried playing Myst III: Exile (OS X native) and it still runs like crap. It sounds like it's scraping off the bottom layer of my DVD, too. Are stock iBooks typically this slow with games?

Myst III min requirements
    233 MHz G3 Processor or faster
    Mac OS 8.1 or 9.1 or 10.1
    64 MB RAM
    250 MB Available Hard Disk Space
    4X DVD-ROM drive or faster
    640x480 display
    Optional 3D Acceleration
    Required 6MB Video Card Supporting millions of colors
    QuickTime 6 or higher required

5. tpjunkie macrumors 65816

tpjunkie