Mysterious New Preference Pane

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by Phil Of Mac, Oct 25, 2003.

  1. Phil Of Mac
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Phil Of Mac

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Location:
    Washington State University
    #1
    Okay, Panther gave me a new preference pane...I don't think this was supposed to happen:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Phil Of Mac
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Phil Of Mac

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Location:
    Washington State University
    #2
    If I open the "Hardware" Preference Pane, I get this. Is this supposed to be here? What is up with this!?:
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Taavi
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    #3
    what does show control in menu bar give you? (screenshots if you would please, this is interesting)
     
  4. alset
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    alset

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Location:
    East Bay, CA
    #4
    Interesting. I haven't ever seen anything like this on the rest of the net.

    I'd say you should contact Apple and ask if it's a feature or a bug.

    Dan
     
  5. Phil Of Mac
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Phil Of Mac

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Location:
    Washington State University
    #5
    Absolutely nothing.

    Also, I can apparently use the menu by L2 Cache to turn the L2 Cache on and off. I keep turning it on, but it just goes back off!
     
  6. Phil Of Mac
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Phil Of Mac

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Location:
    Washington State University
    #6
    Some more info: I upgraded over 10.2.8 (the second release) on a 15" PowerBook G4 Aluminum, 1.25 GHz processor (although the Hardware preference pane tells me they cheated me out of 50 MHz; those bastards!), stock except a slight change in RAM configuration.

    Also, I think this just mysteriously appeared after awhile!
     
  7. Taavi
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    #7
    If your want to delete it go to Computer/(Hard drive)/System/Library/preferencepanes/ and look for something saying hardware.

    I'd take a screen shot of it and send a bug report to apple just for good measure too.
     
  8. bankshot
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    bankshot

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Location:
    Southern California
    #8
    I was perplexed when it appeared for me, too, but then I remembered that I has just installed the Developer CD and had checked the CHUD Tools option. I'll bet it's part of that.
     
  9. Phil Of Mac
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Phil Of Mac

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Location:
    Washington State University
    #9
    Oh, damn, you're right! You're right! That's exactly what I did!

    Time to uninstall and reinstall Xcode! (I could just delete the preference pane...but I won't.)
     
  10. MoparShaha
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    MoparShaha

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #10
    That preference pane shows up when you install Xcode Developer's Tools. On my machine, a dual processor Power Mac, it also gives me the option of shutting off one processor. When I shut one off, even in Apple System Profiler it only shows one processor. Interesting stuff.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. MoparShaha
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    MoparShaha

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #11
    Oh yeah, here's a shot of the Control in the menu bar.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. macfreek57
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    #12
    no, no, no

    i remember this being discussed in some of the forums when panther was still being seeded to developers,
    it was originally for the g5 and to use or dis-use(??) the daul processorism

    i don't know it's late
    but it was discussed before (a while ago)
     
  13. Phil Of Mac
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Phil Of Mac

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Location:
    Washington State University
    #13
    And finally, as quickly as it started, it has stopped. Thanks for the help, guys!
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Phil Of Mac
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Phil Of Mac

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Location:
    Washington State University
    #14
    There's a utility in Developer/Applications/CHUD that's called "CHUD Remover" that removes all the CHUD stuff. That's what I used.
     
  15. jywv8
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago
    #15
    nap

    You can also use it to turn off "napping", which was causing some sqeaky/cricket noises on some Dual G5s. I remember reading about this on some other thread here, but I can't find the link right now.

    ...ah here it is:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=41217&highlight=nap+hardware

    Scroll down to the posting by KentuckyApple.
     
  16. XnavxeMiyyep
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    XnavxeMiyyep

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Washington
    #16
    It's a sign...

    The option of switching from dual processor mode to single processor mode may be a sign: Dual Processor PowerBooks coming soon!:D

    Just turn off the second processor for improved battery life.
     
  17. Phil Of Mac
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Phil Of Mac

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Location:
    Washington State University
    #17
    Re: It's a sign...

    Or it may be a sign that it already works on dual processor Power Macs.
     
  18. XnavxeMiyyep
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    XnavxeMiyyep

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Washington
    #18
    Re: Re: It's a sign...

    But what would be the use of turning off the second processor of a Powermac?
     
  19. Phil Of Mac
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Phil Of Mac

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Location:
    Washington State University
    #19
    Re: Re: Re: It's a sign...

    It's a part of *developer tools*. Testing and benchmarking, anyone? It is NOT a part of the normal install!
     
  20. XnavxeMiyyep
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    XnavxeMiyyep

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Washington
    #20
    Re: Re: Re: Re: It's a sign...

    Okay, you have a good point. Well, I'm still hoping for Dual Processor Powerbooks, even though they now seem just as unlikely as before.
     
  21. Doctor Q
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    At a Los Angeles Blood Bank
    #21
    Re: Re: Re: It's a sign...

    Just a wild guess, but maybe it helps sometimes when debugging code. If you are following low-level execution in a multithreaded program, I can imagine it might make the processing more predictable if you allow only a single processor to run.
     

Share This Page