mywi but for a computer.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by TSX, Mar 10, 2010.

  1. TSX
    macrumors 68030

    TSX

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
    Is there a program like mywi, but for a computer? At my work our computers are hooked to the net ethernet wise, but i was wondering of there was a program like mywi that could use the computer wireless card to send out a wireless network.
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    #2
    Ad-hoc Internet Sharing

    I'm not sure about Mac's but I know there's a feature built into Windows that allows for this. It's basically the same concept that MyWi uses as it just sets up an ad-hoc network.

    A quick Google with your operating system + ad-hoc internet sharing should yield you some guides.
     
  3. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    Wouldnt the particular computer need to have either a wireless card or bluetooth adapter installed to transmit the wireless signal?
     
  4. macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #4
    Both Windows and OSX support wireless internet sharing natively. Google "Internet Connection Sharing Windows" or "Internet Sharing OS X".
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    #5
    Yeah, the computer you're sharing the internet from would need to have a WiFi card.
     
  6. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    And offcourse you gotta make sure that particular feature is not disabled by your companys network administration on every company computer.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    dsnort

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Location:
    In persona non grata
    #7
    On a Mac, a computer that has an ethernet internet connection can share it's internet by using its Airport to set up an Ad Hoc WiFi network. Not as effective as a router, but I used a set up like that in my house for 6 months.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Penguissimo

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    And any systems administrator worth their weight in salt would have things set up so that you'd need an administrator password to turn this function on in OS X.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    tctony

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #9
    I use my Mac to share it's internet connection as a wifi network for my iPhone. You need an ethernet connection, though. Settings > Sharing > Internet Sharing
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #10
    Now the question is, is there any way to share a 3G connection over Wi-Fi?
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    pixelated

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #11
    um, yes. its called MyWi...hence the title of the thread
     
  12. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #12
    system preferences -> sharing -> enable internet sharing -> select airport

    done
     
  13. TSX
    thread starter macrumors 68030

    TSX

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    Today at work i tried to make an adhoc network but the option wasnt there, under set up a connection. (vista)
     
  14. macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #14
    That's probably because, as several people told you, any qualified sysadmin will have disabled the feature on company computers. They don't want you opening up holes in their network just so you can stream Pandora to your iPhone.
     
  15. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #15

    Bingo
     
  16. TSX
    thread starter macrumors 68030

    TSX

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #16
    The latinist, applejuice

    Most companys would have this but, the company is family owned and I don't remember them doing anything to our computer in our department, up front in the offices might be different though. But I'm pretty sure it wasn't disabled, but I might be wrong.
     
  17. macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #17
    My thought is if it's not there, SOMEBODY disabled it when the network was setup.

    Small companies generally outsource these types of services unless someone in the family has the ability to set up the network.
     

Share This Page