Windows Name Change on graphics card Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Guitardude092, Oct 31, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    #1
    Well, the only reason I am posting on mac and pc games is because i use bootcamp to play around here and there. Not to long ago I purchased BF3 when EA was having an anniversary sale. So when I finally tried to play, BF3 told me my drivers were too old. So I took the advice from a couple of guys on here and deleted my old apple drivers and installed one given to me. It worked I am grateful for that, but just recently i noticed the name changed from the original 6770m hd to the now 6700m. I think somewhere in an old thread i read that it was normal, the graphics card was still the 6770m hd but the name change was from the installation of the up to date drivers i downloaded. Is there a confirmation on this from anyone who has done the same? Thanks.

    tl;dr- old graphics identified 6770m hd, after deleting, installing new one, named changed to 6700m
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #2
    This is normal, once you upgrade from the default bootcamp ones it will list the device as a slightly different name, mine changed to a more generic name. I think this is because the driver package supports more than just one card, it supports the whole series of cards under that naming convention.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    #3
    Thanks for clearing it up for me man. Much appreciated. Just wondering, which MBP model do you have?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #4
    Its the one just before yours, in my signature are it's current specs, march 2011!
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    #5
    Cool. Do you game often?
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #6
    Aye I play pretty much every day on it, still works fantastically well! Hopefully it will last me in to 2014 and then I can upgrade again!
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #7
    Should last you that long.
    My 2010 i7 15" is still going strong and it is rendering 3D files for more than 12 hours a day at full CPU usage. I have also played games for hours on end since I got it. It has no problems what so ever, apart from the performance being well lower than what I need now its still going strong.
     

Share This Page