Name Server in setup question

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by tzmyslo25, Feb 7, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    #1
    When first setting up Leopard Server it asks for a name server. What the hell do I put here? Do I make it up or is it something I need from my ISP? Any help would be greatly appreciated and sorry if this was already posted else where.

    Tom
     
  2. macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #2
    it's the name of the server. this is important if you have a domain and all, b/c it will be the hostname.

    so if you had example.com as your domain name, the hostname would be servername.example.com
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    rezenclowd3

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Location:
    Undoing the work of Priuses: burning gas & rubber
    #3
    I am also setting up a server (Xserve, 10.5). If you want the server accessible outside the network, you need to call you ISP about what info to put in that field, otherwise you assign it a name from another server. With mine, I give it a name from my 10.4 server under the DNS service in Server Admin.

    Please anyone correct me if I am wrong. I am still learning A LOT about networks.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #4
    It's been a year since I set up our OS X Server, however I believe the question for hostname is exactly that, 'what is your hostname.' I believe when asking for DNS servers, it's worded nameservers, since well, that's what DNS servers are.

    In short, I think the OP needs to enter his DNS server (internal). If you don't have one, OS X Server can provide that service.
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    "server name" is hostname, as twodocc noted "servername.domainname.com", or whatever. The server name is your choice.

    Since it's a server, it's integral that it have a static IP, otherwise you're kind of defeating the purpose of having a server.
    Don't forget to make sure that the hostname looks uop both forwards and backwards when you're done.
     

Share This Page