Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

g30ffr3y

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 18, 2002
buffalo ny
hey guys... i recently got a digital camera and have started really trying to use the new iphoto and keep my pictures in order...

what ive noticed though is when you import pics and the names come up at a bunch of letters and numbers... if you rename them in the actual iphoto program... when you go to your iphoto library folder in home>pictures>iphotolibrary>etc... the names are still all weird numbers and letters...

in reverse... if you import the pics and then rename them in your home folder... they dont change in the iphoto program...

is there anyway to change them so that you just have to change them once???

also... ive noticed that if you rename them and cut the .jpg off the end you cant use the pics with .mac or uses across the computer...

sorry... im new to using iphoto in any depth...

sethypoo

macrumors 68000
Oct 8, 2003
Sacramento, CA, USA
This is a problem I ran into also.

When you rename photos in iPhoto, you only rename them in iPhoto, not the actual name in your home>pictures>iphotolibrary>etc... folder. You actually have to rename them in your pictures folder in order for it to take effect in you whole system.

jelloshotsrule

macrumors G3
Feb 7, 2002
serendipity
i would *guess* that if you renamed them in your folders, and then imported them... in other words, once they're imported they're imported...

that said, that might not work either, but it should....?

overall- i hate the way iphoto organizes... and unlike itunes, it's unclear that it's actually making full copies of your pictures in the iphoto library folder... i bet tons of people end up with 2x the number of photo files on their drives...

g30ffr3y

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 18, 2002
buffalo ny