nano with folder and exclamation point

Discussion in 'iPod' started by orijinal, Jan 14, 2006.

  1. macrumors 6502

    orijinal

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    #1
    i went to the support page and tried all the steps (resetting, charge, etc), but nothing is working it is stuck on this screen.

    it's plugged into my powerbook which is plugged into the AC, so I don't know what's wrong with it.

    anyone have ideas?
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Have you tried restoring the firmware using iPod Software Updater? :)
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    pdpfilms

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Location:
    Vermontana
    #3
    Can the powerbook read any of the data? If not, the HDD is probably a little messed up. Reformat it using the latest iPod Utility (apple.com/support). If that doesn't work, call up Apple.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502

    orijinal

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    #4
    ok i got it to reset, it's stuck on what looks like an old black and white LCD (no color or 3d graphics), and there's a large check and and OK to disconnect.

    whenever i disconnect, it brings me back to the folder with the !

    how do i just reformat my ipod so that it's like it was out of the box?
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    orijinal

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    #6
    thanks, giving it a whirl. i'll report back with the progress.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    orijinal

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
  8. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    Brilliant. :)

    FWIW, the exclamation mark in the folder is a sign that the iPod cannot find it's firmware so reinstalling it almost always works. :)
     
  9. macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #9

    nano doesnt use hd
     

Share This Page