Nascar 2003

Discussion in 'Games' started by c2kvette, May 29, 2003.

  1. c2kvette macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Location:
    Charlotte, North Carolina USA
    #1
    Downloaded the demo version of this game - I actually like EA Sports, Nascar Thunder 2004 on PS2 better than this. The graphics look a little gagged and the game doesn't seem to be real responsive. Could this be because I am running a demo and not the full version?

    I'm running it on a
    17" G4 iMac
    800MHZ 786MB
     
  2. P-Worm macrumors 68020

    P-Worm

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
  3. P-Worm macrumors 68020

    P-Worm

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
  4. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #4
    No it could be that they never made a Nascar game to sell well and it was programed like ****!

    No Nascar game, for any platform ever playied well.
     
  5. mangoman macrumors 6502a

    mangoman

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Location:
    Second Floor
    #5
    I pulled the demo down yesterday and took it for a spin (pun intended...barr harr harr). I'm not impressed. Felt... clunky. The steering was jerky. In a word: lame.

    I wish someone would reissue something violent and filthy and beautiful like Carmageddon II. Now THAT was a fine driving game! Would love to see it revamped for Open GL with lush graphics (i.e. more detailed violence)..

    Am I getting off track here? (another bad pun intended).
     
  6. iAmAzN macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Location:
    Golden, CO
    #6
    Although I haven't played much nascar games but I have played a nascar game on my friends Xbox... it seemed to play well (of course that is probably the only nascar game i've played ever) but in other words, i haven't seen a good nascar game for computers yet.
     
  7. King Cobra macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #7
    I have Nascar Thunder 2003 for the xBox, and it runs very smooth. The graphics and detail are right there.

    The one thing that pisses me off is the coaching section of the game, in which you follow a specific path and have to beat certain times. The coaching assistance in that part of the game is bull.
     
  8. job macrumors 68040

    job

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    in transit
    #8
    Hah, that's a joke.

    Did you ever read why Westlake codenamed the first NASCAR port "Finest Hour?" They had specifically optimized the port for Altivec, thus it ran like a dream on most G4 machines. Whether you approve of the gameplay has nothing to do as to how well it was coded/ported.
     
  9. Brad Oliver macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #9
    The code name had nothing to do with the optimizations. It referred to Winston Churchill's "Finest Hour" account of WW2, and by way of indirection, the Winston Cup in NASCAR.
     
  10. job macrumors 68040

    job

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    in transit
    #10
    Meh. :)

    I just based that off some of the posts I had read in on the IMG board.

    On a related note, does the game itself have optimizations, or am I just completely loony?
     
  11. Brad Oliver macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #11
    It does indeed. It is SMP-savvy and uses some Altivec code for the physics simulation. This holds true for both Nascar 2002 and 2003.
     
  12. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #12
    But that still doesn't mean it can't run baddly.

    I checked it out, eh it was ok, it ran decently when I killed everything I was running.
     

Share This Page