Need a video capture device...

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by RDReynolds, Jul 27, 2004.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    #1
    ...for my G5. I've tried several, including a Pyro AV. The issue I am running into is that I am pulling the video from old tapes, and I keep losing the signal. It's weird, because on my old G3 with built-in AV, I never have a problem with that.

    Any help would be mucho appreciated.

    Thanks,

    RD
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    #2
    canopus makes a couple models that are well regarded. i have one and it works great.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    #3
    I had a Canopus - it did the same thing. It would stutter constantly when using old VHS tapes. If you used commercial tapes, it would be fine. Have you run into this problem as well?

    R~
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    davecuse

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    I have a PowerBook and went with Dazzle, it connects via FireWire and has worked very well for me. It's not professional quality, but for my purposes is more than suitable.
     
  5. jsw
    Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #5
    Dumb question, but could it be the VCR? I mean, do you have a different one that might output a stronger signal?
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Location:
    Thunder Bay, ON
    #6
    Sounds like the VCR is having trouble timecode breaks, maybe get a new one with TBC.

    I can also highly recommend Canopus boxes for analog to DV conversion.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    #7
    i haven't run into a problem with it yet. i don't encode that much, mind you. i do audio engineering and occasionally have to edit audio to video, so the canopus lets me do a conversion from the vhs deck to dv so i can make a little quicktime reference video to work to. but again, i've never had a problem with it and it was relatively cheap.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    #8
    Definitely not the VCR - I've tried it with three different ones. I've also tried it using a VCR hooked through another VCR (the tech at Canopus suggested that to boost the signal). I've tried it with different tapes as well.

    R~
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    #9
    What mode of the Dazzle do you use? I'd be willing to give that a shot...

    R~
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    #10
    miniDV?

    I've had good luck converting analog video/audio to digital by attaching s-video and stereo rca audio to the inputs of my miniDV camcorder and first recording the material to miniDV tape. Then, I use firewire to pull the digital content from the camcorder into my Mac.

    Granted, this is a a two-step process, which is a little more time consuming, but it offers the benefit of resulting in an archivable miniDV copy and eliminates any issues with timecode errors.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    #11
    yes, i'd think people with these cameras could bypass the canopus or other video cards entirely. i've seen it done and it certainly works.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    davecuse

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #12
    I used the Dazzle Hollywood, hooked through a FireWire cord to my powerbook, then using RCA cables to a VCR to import video, it worked flawlessly with iMovie. It also outputs to analog, but iDVD was the whole reason i got the Dazzle. It worked out beautifully for me.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    #13
    Hmmmm...I don't know if those are still available. I searched CDW, and found nothing. Weird.

    RD
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    davecuse

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #14
    I just checked Pinnacle's website, looks like the FireWire version was discontinued for some reason. You might be able to find one on eBay..
     
  15. 7on
    macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #15
    Formac makes a Analog-DV bridge specifically for the mac. It even has TV software with it to watch tv through it.
     
  16. Sol
    macrumors 68000

    Sol

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #16
    Most likely the cables

    Sounds like the cables you use are unreliable. I had a similar problem with a Canopus ADVC-100 when connected through the rear video in; a jiggle of the cable and the signal returned to normal.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    #17
    Nope, I tried completely different cables as well. The weird thing is that my old G3 captures everything perfectly - just at 320x240. 8(

    RD
     
  18. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    #18
    Has anyone tried one of these? I'd be interested, but I hate to buy yet another capture device I have to send back...

    RD
     

Share This Page