need advice adding RAM to MBP C2D 2.16 ghz model

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dpope, Dec 13, 2006.

  1. dpope macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    #1
    Hi,

    I've started to feel the strain of only 1 GB ram and am considering an upgrade. I thought I would have to buy two new 1 GB simms (or whatever they're called nowadays) but a quick glance at Apple's webpage suggests that the lowest end MBP (which I have) comes with 1 GB of RAM on a single SO-DIMM. So in principle I just need to buy another 1 GB SO-DIMM, right? I know its on the apple website so its true but I'm being paranoid so bare with me. Can someone confirm that this machine has only a single stick of RAM in it. If this is true then I have to applaud Apple's less wasteful behaviour (having to throw out to 512 MB sticks would be such a waste).

    Does anyone have a recommendation for a particlar brand/kind of memory or are they all pretty similar? I don't live in the US but someone will be visiting me from there soon so I'll probably ask him to bring it with him (since its much cheaper). Since he's leaving very soon he'll have to buy it from a store (best buy or something) rather than order it online ... is this going to cost me money or quality?

    thanks
     
  2. mopppish macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    #2
    I have the same model.
    Yes, the 1GB came on one stick.
    I have bought RAM from Crucial, OWC, and DMS with success.
    One of the sticks from OWC was defective, but they gave us a replacement right away and have a good enough reputation that I wouldn't let that effect future buying decisions.
    Crucial is too expensive.
    OWC and DMS tend to have about the same prices.
     
  3. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #3
    If you're unsure just open her up and have a look.
     
  4. Powermax macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    independent
    #4
    It should come with only one 1GB module.
    If you're unsure, you don't need to open it up. Just open system profiler (about this mac -> more info...) and go to memory.
     
  5. tejota1911 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #5
    It comes with a 1GB stick. I would still open it up to see what brand was used. Mine had Samsung. Then order the exact same stuff. Viola!
     
  6. dpope thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    #6
  7. GoneFishing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    #7
    its always good to avoid potential issues.
     
  8. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #8
    I'd try and get Corsair, Kingston, Samsung or Hynix. However the K-Byte seems fine.
     
  9. ChickenSwartz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    #9
    Should be fine. The great thing about buying from a local retailer is that if it doesn't work you can just take it back no RMAs, no hassle.
     

Share This Page